Jack White has released a new song from JACK WHITE ACOUSTIC RECORDINGS 1998-2016. The track, a never-before-heard and previously unreleased acoustic mix of the Raconteurs’ “Carolina Drama,” is available now. “Carolina Drama (Acoustic Mix),” which is featured as today’s Zane Lowe “World Record” on Beats1, is also  included as an instant download with all digital pre-orders of JACK WHITE ACOUSTIC RECORDINGS 1998-2016, along with previously unreleased White Stripes ballad “City Lights.”


Journalist Greil Marcus writes about “Carolina Drama” in the album’s exclusive liner notes: “There’s a counterpoint in the sweeping ‘Carolina Drama,’ from the Raconteurs’ 2008 album Consolers of the Lonely, here with the original drum track dropped, so that the uncanny sensation that can make a traditional old-time murder ballad come across as a ghost story stands out. With guitar that sneaks in through banjo and fiddle from the Rolling Stones’ ‘Sister Morphine,’ this is a frighteningly present-day murder ballad, with a shaggy dog punchline-and so musically in tune with the tradition it claims and affirms you don’t need to listen to the words to follow the story, which gets bigger, bigger, voices joining from all across the horizon of the song, White’s vocal speeding up as if to keep up with the haunts that are already disappearing around the bend of the tune, into a world you’d just as soon not enter.”

JACK WHITE ACOUSTIC RECORDINGS 1998-2016 (Third Man Records/Columbia) will be released on September 9th, the very same day that White will appear on the Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon to perform solo acoustic on TV for the first time ever.

White and Third Man Records have also announced a special, limited edition colored vinyl version of JACK WHITE ACOUSTIC RECORDINGS 1998-2016. The 180-gram double LP on blue vinyl with black and white whisps will be available exclusively at Third Man Records’ Nashville and Cass Corridor, Detroit storefronts on the September 9th release day. This colored pressing will be the only limited edition version of the record that is produced.

JACK WHITE ACOUSTIC RECORDINGS 1998-2016 is the essential Jack White songwriting collection –a 26-track double-LP and double-CD that features alternate versions, mixes and previously unreleased recordings from The White Stripes, The Raconteurs and solo material all completely remastered. The album is available for pre-order physically and digitally now.

JACK WHITE ACOUSTIC RECORDINGS 1998-2016 collects acoustic songs from throughout White’s wide-ranging musical career, spanning album tracks, B-sides, remixes, alternate versions, and previously unreleased tracks. The album, arranged in chronological order, includes acoustic songs made famous by The White Stripes, beginning with “Sugar Never Tasted So Good” (originally found on The White Stripes’ second-ever 7-inch single) and then lighting upon favorites like “Apple Blossom” and “I’m Bound To Pack It Up” (remixed here from the original recordings on 2000’s DE STIJL), “Hotel Yorba” and “We’re Going To Be Friends” (from 2001’s WHITE BLOOD CELLS), “You’ve Got Her In Your Pocket” and “Well It’s True That We Love One Another” (from 2003’s GRAMMY® Award-winning ELEPHANT), “Forever For Her (Is Over For Me),” “White Moon” and “As Ugly As I Seem” (from 2005’s GET BEHIND ME SATAN) “Effect & Cause” (from 2007’s ICKY THUMP), and the Beck-produced “Honey, We Can’t Afford To Look This Cheap,” first found on the B-side to The White Stripes’ final single, 2007’s “Conquest.”

Also featured are “Never Far Away” (recorded for 2003’s COLD MOUNTAIN: MUSIC FROM THE MIRAMAX MOTION PICTURE) and “Love Is The Truth” (written and recorded for Coca-Cola’s 2006 What Goes Around campaign) as well as the Bluegrass Version of “Top Yourself” and an acoustic mix of the epic murder ballad, “Carolina Drama,” both written by White and Brendan Benson for The Raconteurs’ GRAMMY® Award-winning 2008 album, CONSOLERS OF THE LONELY. White’s two chart-topping solo albums, 2012’s BLUNDERBUSS and 2014’s LAZARETTO, are represented by a remarkably diverse range of material including “Love Interruption,” “On And On And On,” “Blunderbuss,” “Entitlement,” “Want And Able,” and alternative mixes of “Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy,” “Just One Drink,” “I Guess I Should Go To Sleep,” and B-side, “Machine Gun Silhouette.”

The 26 tracks featured on JACK WHITE ACOUSTIC RECORDINGS 1998-2016 were remastered earlier this year by Andrew Mendelson at Nashville, TN’s Georgetown Masters. All songs were written and produced exclusively by Jack White, except “Never Far Away” (produced by T Bone Burnett), “Honey, We Can’t Afford To Look This Cheap” (produced by Beck), “Top Yourself (Bluegrass Version)” and “Carolina Drama” (written & produced by White & Brendan Benson), and “Machine Gun Silhouette” (written by White & Rob Jones). The complete track listing is below.


Release Date: September 9, 2016


1          Sugar Never Tasted So Good

2          Apple Blossom (Remixed)

3          I’m Bound To Pack It Up (Remixed)

4          Hotel Yorba

5          We’re Going To Be Friends

6          You’ve Got Her In Your Pocket

7          Well It’s True That We Love One Another

8          Never Far Away



9          Forever For Her (Is Over For Me)

10        White Moon

11        As Ugly As I Seem

12        City Lights (Previously Unreleased White Stripes Track)

13        Honey, We Can’t Afford To Look This Cheap 

14        Effect & Cause



15            Love Is The Truth (Acoustic Mix)

16            Top Yourself (Bluegrass Version)

17            Carolina Drama (Acoustic Mix)

18            Love Interruption

19            On And On And On

20            Machine Gun Silhouette (Acoustic Mix)



21            Blunderbuss

22            Hip (Eponymous) Poor Boy (Alternate Mix)

23            I Guess I Should Go To Sleep (Alternate Mix)

24            Just One Drink (Acoustic Mix)

25            Entitlement

26            Want And Able

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, play guitar, music geek, movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Mokita Releases “Til I Don’t”

Born John-Luke Carter, Mokita started playing the piano and at the age of six and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.