Captured Tracks Releases Reissue Of Brotherhood of Lizards “Lizardland” TODAY

Today sees the reissue of the classic The Brotherhood Of Lizards debut (and only) album Lizardland. The album is being reissued by Captured Tracks who have made “On Planets Where I Was Young” and “The World Strikes Oneavailable to stream. This reissue also includes the band’s 1988 cassette.

The Brotherhood Of Lizards was Martin Newell (Cleaners from Venus) and Nelson on bass.  The band’s life was short – Nelson’s migration to New Model Army being the reason – but well-lived.

The Brotherhood Of Lizards formed in 1988 and towards the end of 1989, Deltic label head Andy McQueen, who knew Newell’s general aversion to touring, asked if there was any possibility that the duo might go on a promotional tour. Newell replied, “Only by bicycle.” Though there was a heavy sigh on the other end of the line, soon after, whilst studying a map of England and its regional radio stations, it struck Newell that a bicycle tour might be a real possibility. Thus, amazingly, in early October, Newell and Nelson set off on bicycles, instruments on backs, tiny amps in front carriers, for a 600-mile busking tour of the entire southern half of England. The media became unexpectedly interested. More through sheer eccentricity than eco-activism, at the turn of a turbulent decade, the Lizards had unwittingly hitched a ride on a brand new zeitgeist. They were called “The First Eco Rock Band” and the tour became the subject of a number of news items, as well as a documentary that is, alas, now lost.

In 1990 The Brotherhood Of Lizards disbanded as Nelson was recruited as the replacement bass player for New Model Army (where he stayed for over twenty years).  The duo had travelled over a thousand miles on bikes, busked their way around England and made all of the music contained in this collection.


1. It Could Have Been Cheryl

2. The World Strikes One

3. The Dandelion Marine

4. Rusty Iron Sun

5. The Happening Guy

6. Clockwork Train

7. The Day After Yesterday

8. Market Day

9. Dear Anya

10. Love The Anglian Way

11. Sand Dragon

12. She Dreamed She Could Fly

13. On Planets Where I Was Young*

14. Carmosine*

15. In Fireglow*

16. April Moon*

17. Hey Hey Hey We’re The…*

18. Tinny Rain*

19. The Radiant Boy*

20. Bruvverhood*

21. Duck House*

*Bonus tracks

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Cezur III Releases Music Video for New Single “F.A.B.C.”

Hip-hop recording artist and model Cezur III released today the music video for his latest single “F.A.B.C.”  …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.