Just a little more than a year since last transmission and suddenly the rotation to Motor Earth signals a new day in the life and anti-life of Axis: Sova! Following the fuzzing, burning film stock of Axis: Sova’s previous album, Early Surf, and it’s solarized sound of discontent and not-belonging, Motor Earth is rife with percolating boogie, suicidal punk shredders and cavernous rock. This time, however, it’s a planet cleared of sonic brush so as to cleanly reflect the star it orbits and the moon it mirrors. The keys to this: building a band vibe and working with a wider tape-head. Guitar grit remains profound, but distinctly un-smeared; buoyant low end is well-defined, bearing out the robo-rock propulsion that drives Axis: Sova through space.
Axis: Sova began as the one-man operation of Chicago-based Brett Sova, but after touring as a band the last two years, Motor Earth demanded that same visceral, live approach. Live band mainstay Tim Kaiser‘s input on guitar was necessary and utilized, along with others from the Axis: inner circle. Studio takes were live in duo and trio style. All the while, the alien hands of Bitchin’ Bajas’ Cooper Crain worked the boards. With the band ablaze, two guitars finished each others sentences before expanding in the ether, only to catch fire and plunge back to earth, reentering with steel-melting velocity. 
Motor Earth finds Axis: Sova assimilating back down on Earth, soaking in the flawed humanity and broken systems of the world, the repetitive nature of days and days, the course of years.  
Axis: Sova’s Motor Earth is out October 14th via Drag City imprint, God? Records, and available for pre-order now. Listen below to “Violent Yellow,” a debut single that swirls with paranoia before detonating into syncopated dual riffs.
Stream Axis: Sova’s “Violent Yellow” —
Motor Earth Tracklisting:
1. Love Identity
2. (Like An) Intruder
3. Sanity Range
4. Eyes Have It
5. Unraveling
6. Violent Yellow
7. Emoticog
8. (Jam 4)
9. Routine Machine
Pre-order Axis: Sova’s Motor Earth

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

MADDOX JONES Releases Uplifting “World’s Gone Mad”

Rising UK singer-songwriter Maddox Jones follows up his debut EP (Headspace) with a heartwarming new single, “World’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.