PAPER ROUTE Premiere Animation Lyric Video for New Single “Chariots” & Announce New Album Coming 9/23

Today (8/11), Nashville-based alternative rock trio PAPER ROUTE premiered an official animation lyric video for “Chariots, the second single off their much-anticipated third full-length album, titled Real Emotion, set for release September 23rd on Kemosabe Records/Sony Music Ent. Click here to watch the new video for “Chariots,which premiered exclusively on Baeble Music. The band revealed their new album’s release date to fans via their weekly Facebook Live session this past Sunday (8/7).

Beginning this Tuesday (8/16), fans will be able to pre-order Real Emotion on PAPER ROUTE‘s webstore and on iTunes for $7.99, with the first instant grat track–titled “Balconies”–to be released on September 2nd.

“Chariots”–available now on all digital platforms (links below)–was chosen as the exclusive track for the FIFA 17 – Official Gameplay Trailer (which premiered at E3 2016) and was recently added to two of Spotify’s top playlists: Indie Pop! and New Noise. “Chariots,which impacts Alternative radio nationwide beginning August 22nd, is already receiving early airplay.

‘Chariots’ is a song we couldn’t be more proud of,” bassist Chad Howat shares. “It’s a bit of everything we’ve always strived to do condensed into a few minutes: a manic beat, glow-of-the-halo atmospherics, and a deeply personal, but simple, lyric. If this isn’t the cornerstone to our new album, then it’s at least the apex.” Frontman JT Daly adds, “In love, no one is innocent and at some point we all ask ourselves, ‘what am I fighting for?’ ‘Chariots’ is a song about this friction. The collision of what we want and what we need – amounting to who we really are. I’m not saying there’s a right or wrong answer here, but I am saying it’s a blood spilled battle. This battle has been brought to life.”

The single was first introduced on the influential music blog EARMILK, who declared, “If you aren’t on the Paper Route tip, you should get familiar…Their blend of indie pop, alternative rock, and electronic stylings is refreshing and seamless, showcasing their bravado and ability to create a diverse and engaging record…Chariots’ an invigorating orchestration of frenetic rhythm, soaring vocals, and captivating chord progressions that straddle you in and take you on an exhilarating 4:36-minute ride.” (6/10/16)

Next month, PAPER ROUTEJT Daly (vocals, keyboards, percussion), Chad Howat (bass, piano, programming) and Nick Aranda (guitar)–will announce a 25+ date U.S. tour in support of the new album. The band has previously toured with Imagine Dragons, Passion Pit, Paramore and Mutemath.

Much like they did for their 2012 LP The Peace Of Wild Things, when it came time to begin working on the new album the band moved into a cabin deep in the hills of Middle Tennessee that they dubbed North House, set up a makeshift studio, and spent a month dreaming up material for their third album. As a band that thrives equally on intense collaboration and solo experimentalism–a dynamic that’s shaped their lavishly textured, beat-heavy alt-rock for more than a decade–the isolated quarters provided a perfect breeding ground for PAPER ROUTE‘s ever-evolving creativity.

As a result, PAPER ROUTE has carved out a vital new sound that closely reflects their purity of intention. “Making this album, we really chased the feeling we all had back when we were just beginning to discover the wonder of music,” Daly explains. “That feeling I can still remember from taping ‘Champagne Supernova’ on my boombox when it debuted on the radio, that’s what we wanted to get into these songs.” Charged with the raw energy that PAPER ROUTE has revealed in touring the world with bands like Imagine Dragons, Passion Pit, Paramore and Mutemath, Real Emotion achieves that feeling in part by making guitars central to its intricately crafted arrangements.

Track listing for Real Emotion:

1. Intro

2. Writing On The Wall

3. Pretend

4. Chariots

5. Untitled

6. Blue Collar Daydream

7. Real Emotion

8. Mona Lisa

9. Second Place

10. Laugh About It

11. Lara

12. Zhivago

13. Bleary

14. Balconies

15. Love Is Red (with Every Shade Of Blue)

16. Vanisher

“Chariots” is available here:


Apple Music:




About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Revolutionary 3D Los Angeles-based all-girl music group, AVTR®, made their first public appearance at Helsinki …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.