Atlantic Records has announced the official release of “SUICIDE SQUAD: THE ALBUM,” the musical companion to the eagerly awaited film from Warner Bros. Pictures. The album has arrived at last in stores and at all online retailers today (  SUICIDE SQUAD is also out now worldwide in 3D, and in 2D, and in select IMAX 3D theaters.

“SUICIDE SQUAD: THE ALBUM” was accompanied by multiple instant grat downloads, including “Heathens” by multi-platinum recording duo Twenty One Pilots; “Sucker For Pain” by Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa & Imagine Dragons with Logic and Ty Dolla $ign (Feat. X Ambassadors); and “Purple Lamborghini” by Skrillex & Rick Ross.

Purple Lamborghini” by Skrillex & Rick Ross had its world premiere on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 Show amidst last month’s San Diego Comic-Con, and earned immediate acclaim from a wide range of media outlets. “As dope as you could imagine,” exclaimed Billboard.  “This track is a monster,” raved Stereogum. This morning “Purple Lamborghini” was joined by an explosive companion video of its own. The Colin Tilley directed clip is highlighted by a special appearance from SUICIDE SQUAD star Jared Leto as The Joker – making its debut via Skrillex’s official YouTube.

“SUICIDE SQUAD: THE ALBUM” was celebrated all week long on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 Show with a series of exclusive interviews and “World Record” worldwide premieres. The week kicked off Monday with a premiere of Kehlani’s “Gangsta” alongside a special interview with SUICIDE SQUAD writer/director David Ayer; “Standing In The Rain,” from Action Bronson, Mark Ronson and Dan Auerbach (of The Black Keys), debuted Tuesday, August 2nd, with Ronson sitting in for a one-on-one chat; Wednesday, August 3rd found Lowe joined by Grimes, who introduced her soundtrack contribution, “Medieval Warfare”; last, but certainly not least, Panic! At The Disco’s long awaited “Bohemian Rhapsody” premiered yesterday, paired with an interview from Panic! frontman Brendon Urie.

The first three “SUICIDE SQUAD” singles have all proven summer smashes, well in advance of the film’s globally anticipated release. “Heathens” is currently #2 on Billboard’s “Hot Rock Songs” chart, and #5 at Alternative Radio, while the companion video has now earned more than 71 million individual views at YouTube alone.

Meanwhile, “Sucker For Pain” by Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa & Imagine Dragons with Logic and Ty Dolla $ign (Feat. X Ambassadors), is proving a crossover blockbuster, debuting at #1 on Billboard’s “Rock Digital Songs” and “Rap Digital Songs” charts with over 67,000 downloads in its first week of release. The track then made the week’s highest “Hot 100” debut while also blowing up the top 10 on both the “Hot Rap Songs” and “Hot Rock Songs” tallies. The “Sucker For Pain” companion video is an equivalent blockbuster, currently boasting 27 million YouTube views and counting.

“SUICIDE SQUAD: THE ALBUM” is as wildly diverse as the Suicide Squad itself, showcasing new and previously unreleased material from some of the most commendable artists in contemporary music (see attached tracklisting). Other highlights include tracks from such unprecedented assemblages as Action Bronson, Mark Ronson and Dan Auerbach (of The Black Keys) and Grace (Feat. G-Eazy), the latter offering a distinctly modern rendition of Leslie Gore’s classic “You Don’t Own Me.” What’s more, “SUICIDE SQUAD: THE ALBUM” features new songs from Kevin Gates, Kehlani, Skylar Grey, Grimes and Panic! At The Disco (who offer up an astounding rendition of Queen’s classic “Bohemian Rhapsody”). In addition to its new tracks, the album features classics from War, Creedence Clearwater Revival, and Eminem, as well as the first full-length version of the ConfidentialMX (Feat. Becky Hanson) cover of “I Started A Joke” featured in last year’s “Comic-Con First Look,” ranked as one of the most-watched trailers of 2015 with over 136 million views since its release.

“SUICIDE SQUAD: THE ALBUM” was produced by Atlantic Records President of Film & TV and GRAMMY® Award-winning soundtrack producer Kevin Weaver (FURIOUS 7, Boardwalk EmpireThe Fault In Our StarsGirls Volumes 1 & 2, True Blood Volumes 1 & 2) and Creative Officer of Warner Music Group and CEO of both Artist Publishing and Partner Groups, Mike Caren, who co-A&Red, with Weaver, the massively successful “FURIOUS 7: ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK” and has been responsible for signing more than twenty gold and platinum-selling artists, including Trey Songz, T.I., Flo Rida, and Wiz Khalifa.

For updates, please visit,, (@suicidesquadwb),, and

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


After attracting acclaim together across the media landscape for the track last week Friday, Louisville …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.