MARK STOERMER Premieres New Album Dark Arts

Today, Mark Stoermer, bassist of The Killers, premiered a stream of his second solo album Dark Arts exclusively on NoiseyPRESS HERE to listen and PRESS HERE to watch the music video for single “Are Your Stars Out?” which premiered this week on Billboard. Dark Arts will be released this Friday, August 5th via Stoermer’s own record label St. August Records. PRESS HERE to pre-order Dark Arts digitally along with a re-issue of Stoermer’s first solo album Another Life.

Dark Arts will also be released on vinyl by Bong Load Records as a limited edition pressing with a limited run of only 516 copies. PRESS HERE to pre-order.

“Are Your Stars Out?” begins with an echoing, spacey transmission that transitions into Stoermer’s entrancing guitar solo and evocative lyrical refrain. “I read this J.D. Salinger work called Raise High the Roof Beam, Carpenters and Seymour: An Introduction,” Stoermer said of the song’s inspiration. “The title came from a correspondence of letters between brothers in the book. I interpreted the letter as basically asking, ‘Did you lay it all out there and put everything you’ve got into it?'”

Dark Arts’ 13 songs comprise a mosaic of sixties-induced psychedelia, bluesy desert rock swagger, plaintive lyrical poetry, and lithe and lush cinematic orchestration. The album builds on the foundation of Another Life, while expanding the sound beyond that record’s folk-tinged roots. Co-produced by David Hopkins of Bombay Heavy and recorded at The Killers’ Las Vegas headquarters Battle Born Studios and Studio at The PalmsDark Arts weaves together a twisting and turning trip through a myriad of styles. PRESS HERE to watch the music video for lead single “Spare the Ones That Weep,” which premiered on NME.

Since the release of Another Life in 2011, Stoermer has released 2012’s Battle Born with The Killers, performed alongside Dhani Harrison on Conan for “George Harrison Week” and joined The Smashing Pumpkins on tour, handling bass for their Monuments to an Elegy Tour.

Dark Arts track list:

1. Alchemical Formula

2. Drifting Caterpillar

3. Spare The Ones That Weep

4. 39 Steps

5. Avarice/What’s Coming

6. The Break In

7. Take My Time

8. Blood and Guts (The Anatomy Lesson)

9. Tow The Line

10. Are Your Stars Out?

11. Fingerspitzengefühl

12. What Was In-Between

13. Pretend Song

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Nashville-based singer-songwriter, Meaghan Farrell, has released her new single, “My Anarchy,” through Noble Steed Music.  …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.