Four-Octave Vocal Powerhouse CHELSEA DASH Releases Her New Album ‘Dangerous’ Today (7/22)‏

Both personally and professionally, projecting strength and confidence is indispensably important to four-octave vocal powerhouse CHELSEA DASH. On her new album Dangerousout today (7/22) on Rekless Music/SeaWaves Music, she does just that. Dangerous is an eight-song sonic and lyrical puzzle, with pieces that form a perfectly cohesive message of fun and feminism, revelry and rebelliousness, desire and danger. The collection brilliantly showcases the singer/songwriter/guitarist‘s unique blend of pop, dance and R&B, with undertones of soul.

Dangerous is a mix of both personal things I’ve gone through and fantasies I’ve created in my mind based on real events,” she shares. “The songs are a blend of edgy, sassy, dark, powerful, raw and fun sonic candy.”

Her latest single “Quicksand” was produced by Tomas Costanza (Boys Like Girls, Clinton Sparks, Macklemore and 2 Chainz) and co-written by DASH and multi-platinum songwriter/producer Chris Rojas (Backstreet Boys, Pink, Jessica Simpson). CHELSEA initially wrote the song about a girlfriend of hers and a guy she was dating, but confesses she too has been caught up in that type of “toxic relationship.” The track first debuted on, who praised it as an “empowering anthem helmed by the up-and-coming pop starlet” (6/14/16) and the official music video premiered on, who noted the song “sees her flirting with pop, R&B, trip-hop and a bit of buzzy electronics” (7/12/16). CHELSEA also recently dropped a behind-the-scenes video with footage from the studio recording of “Quicksand”; check it out here. The next single and video off the album will be “Fugitive.”

The lineup of collaborators DASH assembled for Dangerous is a potent group of heavy hitters who’ve worked with scores of A-list artists. The team includes Smitty Soul (“Fugitive,” “Glow In the Dark”) who’s worked with Lady Gaga, Nicki Minaj, Sean Kingston, Keysha Cole and Chris Brown; Tomas Costanza (“Quicksand,” “Massive Attack,” “Dangerous,” “Fall Over Me”) who’s written for and produced seven top 5 albums, including three that have gone to number 1, plus had a hand in hits by Macklemore and 2 Chainz, among others; and Goodwill and MGI (“Take a Picture”) who’ve been in studio with Justin Bieber, Akon, Sean Kingston, 50 Cent, and Twista, among others.

CHELSEA is an enigma in the most positive sense of the word. She was born and raised amongst the natural wilderness surrounding Mill Valley, CA, but admits she’s not a “small town person” and from a very young age knew she wanted to live along the concrete canyons. Her musical career began in preschool when for ‘Show and Tell’ she belted out her own rendition of Madonna’s “Like a Virgin,” much to the disgrace of her peers and teachers, and was nearly expelled. Following high school, her drive and tenacious spirit lead CHELSEA to New York City where she lived for a year before studying music at the prestigious Berklee College of Music; she has now settled in Los Angeles. She’s smart and sexy and declaratively affirms she’s a fierce feminist. Add these and many other traits, including the fact that she is a reflective versus reactive songwriter, and you get a sense of the subtext of several songs on Dangerous.

Track listing for Dangerous:

  1. Fall Over Me

  2.  Massive Attack

  3. Dangerous

  4. Quicksand

  5. Fugitive

  6. Take A Picture

  7. Glow In The Dark

  8. Sticks And Stones

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Following the release of their latest album Chip Chrome & The Mono-Tones, The Neighbourhood has delivered …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.