Fraternal Twin Announce New Album Homeworlding on Ghost Ramp October 14th

For the past several years, Tom Christie has been arranging an ever-twisting and shifting song of his own. Beginning in New York’s Hudson Valley where he grew up, Tom fleshed out the soft and intricate songs that became the first Fraternal Twin album Skin Gets Hot. Released quietly in the spring of 2015, the album passed from fan to fan and developed a cult reputation based on its uniquely intimate display of raw emotion.

Around this time, Christie got together a steady backing band comprised of Max Restaino on drums and David Grimaldi on bass. Together, they formed a much-needed backbone for the songs that Tom was writing while moving back and forth between upstate New York and a newly-adopted home in New Jersey. Before the year was done they were back in the studio at Salvation Recording Co. (New Paltz, NY) with engineer/producer Chris Daly as well as collaborators Leslie Bear (Long Beard), Aaron Maine (Porches) and Silas Reidy (Izzy True) to record the follow-up to Skin Gets Hot.

As it turns out, Homeworlding is an impressively natural progression from their debut. In the span of just under a half hour we hear Fleetwood Mac-indebted pop songs, Tom Verlaine-esque guitar leads, ambient composition and watery folk songs quickly passing by in a way that demands repeat listens in order to fully comprehend the depth of the lyrics and songwriting. And while these components all seem disparate on paper, they’re tied together by a very specific sensibility.

Noisey today premiered the first track from Homeworlding titled “False Alarm”. They write “Falling somewhere between Real Estate and Toro y Moi, “False Alarm” is a lovely little ditty that jangles the shit out of your nostaglic brain and evokes memories of endless summer nights of barbecues and beers and backyards.”

You could call it an astral peace or a zen headspace, but the commonality throughout Homeworlding is the acceptance of the vast world around you and the fact that your own fate is nearly always out of your control. The wind tugs at your arm-or the thing you threw rolls right back.. and all you can do is just let it happen.

Homeworlding is out October 14th on Ghost Ramp.

Track Listing:

1. False Alarm
2. White Wind
3. Big Dipper
4. Shapeless
5. Flesh & Bone
6. Deprive
7. Homeworlding
8. Spinning Fan
9. Favorite Ghost
10. Freakish Glow

Tour Dates:

8/1 – Brooklyn, NY @ Shea Stadium w/ Big Eater, Yucky Duster, Sea Ghost

8/19 – Brooklyn, NY @ 603 w/ Crosslegged, Daphne, Field Sleeper

9/30 – Kingston, NY @ BSP w/ LVL UP, Battle Ave

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Floorbird Release New EP ‘Fall Apart Anywhere’

Philadelphia emo/punk quartet Floorbird have premiered a new music video. “Pale Blue Dot” is taken from Floorbird’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.