Lisa Hannigan Premieres Video For “Fall”

The video for “Fall,” the lead single taken from Irish singer-songwriter Lisa Hannigan’s highly anticipated new album, At Swim, is premiering today via The Wall Street Journal who explains, “finds her exploring new sonic territory.” The video can be streamed/shared here:

In addition, NPR Music recently premiered the track “Prayer for the Dying,” hailing, “This first taste of At Swim…showcases Hannigan’s considerable gift for slow-burning melancholy. Setting her lustrous voice against a backdrop of piano, slide guitar and swooning backing vocals, the song sways sweetly for four and a half languid, hypnotic minutes.” At Swim will be released August 19 via ATO Records.

After touring in support of her last album, Passenger, for nearly two years, Hannigan began writing songs for her new record. Although she struggled to write new material while living in London, away from home and from what she describes as her “usual anchors and points of reference,” Hannigan had a breakthrough when she got an email out of the blue from Aaron Dessner—guitarist in The National and producer of Dark Was the Night and records by Sharon Van Etten, This is the Kit and Frightened Rabbit among others. Working with Dessner and rediscovering the collaborative spirit she’d missed in Dublin enabled Hannigan to see her life in London in a different light. Hannigan and Dessner (guitar) started recording the new record with Logan Coale (bass) and Ross Turner (drums) in rural Hudson, NY at Future Past Studio. In the weeks that followed, Dessner produced the record at his home studio. “He didn’t want it to sound too pretty,” Hannigan says. “He wanted it to have a texture rather than have big arcing melodies.” At Swim is in part about homesickness and isolation as well as about love.

To celebrate the release, Hannigan and Dessner recently appeared at Boston Calling and they will also perform at Eaux Claires Festival August 12-13. More U.S. tour dates to be added soon.

In 2015 Hannigan made her film debut, providing the voice for a Selkie in the Oscar-nominated Irish animation Song of the Sea. Since then, she’s contributed a cover of  “Danny Boy” to the TV series Fargo, as well as vocals for Steve Price’s scores for Gravity—which won an Oscar—and Fury.



1. Fall.

2. Prayer for the Dying

3. Snow

4. Lo

5. Undertow

6. Ora

7. We, The Drowned

8. Anahorish

9. Tender

10. Funeral Suit

11. Barton

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

UK’s YONAKA Share Empowering New Single “Seize The Power”

Today Brighton-based rockers YONAKA share the empowering and unifying new single, “Seize The Power.” The anthemic song opens …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.