Home / News / GERRY BECKLEY of Rock Band America Announces Solo Album ‘CAROUSEL’ out 9/9‏

GERRY BECKLEY of Rock Band America Announces Solo Album ‘CAROUSEL’ out 9/9‏

GERRY BECKLEY–co-founding member of the legendary Grammy Award-winning rock band America–will release a solo album CAROUSEL Friday, September 9 via the Los Angeles-based indie label Blue Élan Records. Recorded at his Los Angeles studio Human Nature, the shimmering 12-track album plays to all of BECKLEY‘s strengths; the singer, songwriter and musician played most instruments on the album.

“With a solo project I’m really a committee of one,” says BECKLEY.  “There’s only myself to please. Having said that, it’s not always easy. Each project is a snapshot in time. The material on Carousel came from a wide scope of inspiration.”

CAROUSEL contains original standouts such as the deeply personal “Lifeline,” “No Way I’m Gonna Lose You” (co-written with Dan Wilson who won an award for his work with Adele) and “Tokyo,” of which BECKLEY says:  “The song actually came to me while I was waiting to board a flight home from Japan. I seem to remember I lost track of time and almost missed the flight.” There are also three covers on which BECKLEY puts his distinctive spin: Spirit’s “Nature’s Way,” Gerry Rafferty’s “To Each and Everyone” and Gerry and The Pacemakers’ “Don’t Let the Sun Catch You Crying.”

“I’ve fortunately never been short on inspiration for my original material but I do love to record a cover every so often,” says BECKLEY. “These three are of course from my long list of fave songs. I’ve been singing ‘Don’t Let The Sun Catch You Crying’ virtually since it came out in the 60’s for example. The Gerry Rafferty song is from his first solo album Can I Have My Money Back?–I love the entire album. It was recorded between the breakup of The Humblebums, his first duo, and his later Steelers Wheel stuff.”

Meanwhile, America will be touring throughout the summer and fall. Click here for more information on tour dates and where to purchase tickets.


1 “Tokyo”

2 “Nature’s Way”

3 “Minutes Count”

4 “Don’t Let The Sun Catch You Crying”

5 “Lifeline”

6 “Widows Weeds”

7 “No Way I’m Gonna Lose You”

8 “Once A Distant Heart”

9 “To Each And Everyone”

10 “Fly”

11 “Serious”

12 “Carousel”

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Saul Williams Releases Music Video for “Dare,” Announces Vinyl Release of Encrypted & Vulnerable

Today Saul Williams released his video for “Dare” — taken from Williams’ album Encrypted & …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.