ERIC COPELAND Shares “Rip It (Sporting Life Remix)” Black Bubblegum LP Out This Friday, July 8th via DFA Records

Today, Eric Copeland shares the “Rip It (Sporting Life Remix)” in anticipation of the release of his new album Black Bubblegum, set for release this Friday, July 8th via DFA Records. Speaking about the original cut of “Rip It”, Copeland describes his inspiration for the avant-jam: ”What can I say?  Speed writing in reggae presents meets trashed gear pile-up in a rent-free basement, a little blurry around the edges, pictures of Jerry [Garcia’s] first, all finished before I started…”

Sporting Life, aka producer Eric Adiele, has a knack for forward thinking electronic experimentation. After servicing as producer on two LPs for New York-based hip-hop collective Rat King, and contributing to the remix EP of Kelela’s celebrated debut Hallucinogen, Adiele released his debut album 55 5’s on R&S Records in 2015 with more material due for release in 2016.

Recorded at the old Black Dice practice space in Brooklyn, Black Bubblegum sees Copeland move away from his trademark version of psychedelic dub, placing an emphasis on creating strange and fantastical pop. He exchanged sample-driven tech hardware for keyboards, guitars, and effect pedals – embracing a new sound that is oddly easy to digest despite its rejection of melody in favor of discord and dissonance.

We are not kidding when we emphasize that Black Bubblegum sounds like nothing he has done in the past. The title of the record says it all: chewy, sticky pop that doesn’t taste quite like any chewy, sticky pop you’ve had before.


  1. Kids In a Coma

  2. Rip It

  3. Fuck It Up

  4. Honorable Mention

  5. Blue Honey

  6. On

  7. Cannibal World

  8. Don’t Beat Yourself Baby

  9. Radio Weapons

  10.  Get My Own

Eric Copeland’s Black Bubblegum LP is set for release July 8th via DFA Records.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Lindsey Stirling and Mako Release Emotive New Single “Lose You Now”

Lindsey Stirling and artist, producer, and songwriter Mako have released their new single “Lose You Now” along with an accompanying …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.