Twin Heart release single ‘Suffocating’!‏

Melding elements of slickly composed emo-pop with an altogether more abrasive quality to their musicianship, Scottish alternative rock three-piece Twin Heart have released their new single Suffocating, taken from their superb debut EP Progress:Decline, out July 1st 2016 via Rip It Up Records and available for pre-order now via iTunes.

To accompany the single the band have released a haunting video, set in an abandoned factory, which premiered on Lounder Than War and is available to watch now via the Twin Heart YouTube channel.

You can also stream the single now via the ABoF Soundcloud page.

Suffocating, the official single due to be released from the EP captures Twin Heart’s energy and passion in four formidable minutes. Dawn Baxter’s voice is powerful yet offers a fragility, conveying the song’s message of being smothered by the weight of the world, an emotion we all can identify with.

Progress:Decline focuses closely on the band’s experiences of setbacks and successes in the time they have been performing together. Taking influence from artists such as Brand New, Alexisonfire and Saves The Day the threesome have combine intelligently to create subtle, emotional lyrical content with high octane alt-rock, producing a sound they can call their own – incorporating the raw power of a band like Marmozets with the expressive and mainstream sensibilities connected with Paramore at their very best.

Suffocating, alongside the two openers, free download track ‘Ghosts’ and ‘Young Eyes’, creates a relentless first half of the EP, the band finding the perfect balance between rapturous hooky song writing and screamo-inspired aggressiveness. Instrumental track ‘Progress’ breaks up the intensity brilliantly, allowing the band to showcase a deftness of touch while illustrating a command of their respective instruments, before the calmness is blown away with the epic closer ‘Speak To Me’, the music fading away until the vocals are affectively isolated.

Twin Heart rose from the ashes of Dawn (guitar/lead vocals) and Murray Baxter’s (drums/vocals) previous band Mechanical Smile and, along with Owen Burt (bass/vocals), have gone onto to make a name for themselves on the Scottish music scene having already received support from the likes of Radio X and Amazing Radio as well as sharing a stage with The Xcerts, Ghost Town and Fort Hope. They will be hitting the road for a UK tour in support of the EP with gigs at the following dates:

29th June – Harleys – Ayr
30th June – The Green Room – Perth
1st July – Madhatters – Inverness
2nd July – Star Bar – Montrose
3rd July – Downstairs – Aberdeen
4th July – Buskers – Dundee
5th July – The Banshee Labyrinth – Edinburgh
5th July – The Good Ship – London
7th July – West St Ale House – Sheffield
8th July – The Pack Horse – Leeds
9th July – The Alma Inn- Bolton
16th July – Pandora Festival, Duncarron
26th August – King Tut’s, Glasgow

Progress:Decline is released on July 1st 2016 via Rip It Up Records and is available for pre-order now via iTunes.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

ATB, Topic & A7S join forces on brand new single ‘Your Love (9pm)’

German dance music legend ATB along with Topic & A7S, have unveiled their brand new single, ‘Your Love (9pm)’. A modern reimagining of ATB’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.