Home / News / Alex Cameron (@alkcm) To Release Debut Album, Out 8/19 On Secretly Canadian | Watch Video for “Take Care of Business”‏

Alex Cameron (@alkcm) To Release Debut Album, Out 8/19 On Secretly Canadian | Watch Video for “Take Care of Business”‏

Sydney’s Alex Cameron will release his debut album, Jumping The Shark, on August 19th via Secretly Canadian. Alex weaves intelligent, poignant lyricism with primitive 80s synths and seemingly minimalist arrangements recalling David Bowie and Ariel Pink, all under a Lynch-ian lense. His debut is a collection of 4-minute tales written to provide you with insight into the inner workings of Alex Cameron (who is always joined by his business partner and saxophonist Roy Molloy). No pretension, no filler, just brilliantly raw and confident.

The very best way to get a feel for Alex Cameron is to read his own words (below the tour dates), watch his videos — both the previously released “She’s Mine” video and brand new video for the album’s closing track, “Take Care Of Business” — and, most importantly, catch his one-of-a-kind live show. After returning from a European tours supporting Mac DeMarco, Kevin Morby and Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Alex will tour this fall supporting Angel Olsen.

Alex Cameron’s “Take Care Of Business” Video – https://youtu.be/6tGqK8_6hL4

Alex Cameron’s “She’s Mine” Video — https://youtu.be/dHBCMLrW-l4

Jumping The Shark Track List:
1. Happy Ending
2. Gone South
3. Real Bad Lookin’
4. The Comeback
5. She’s Mine
6. Internet
7. Mongrel
8. Take Care Of Business

Pre-order Jumping The Shark:
Secretly Canadian – http://smarturl.it/alexcameron
iTunes – http://smarturl.it/alexcameron_it
Amazon – http://smarturl.it/alexcameron_amz
Support your local independent record store – http://smarturl.it/alexcameron_ind

Alex Cameron Tour Dates:
Mon. June 20 – Paris, FR @ Trabendo *
Tue June 21 – Cambridge, UK @ Junction *
Wed. June 22 – Liverpool, UK @ East Village Arts Club *
Tue. June 28 – London, UK @ Koko (Sold Out) #
Wed. June 29 – London, UK @ The Waiting Room
Thu. July 7 – Hungary, HU @ Akvárium #
Fri. July 8 – Zagreb, HR @ Mocvara Backyard #
Sat. July 9 – Vienna, AT @ WUK #
Sun. July 10 – Kutna Hora, CZ @ Creepee Teepee Festival
Tue. July 12 – Munich, DE @ Technikum #
Wed. July 13 – Luxembourg, LU @ Rockhal #
Thu. July 14 – Amsterdam, NL @ De School
Sat. July 16 – Saint-Aubin-sur-mer, FR @ Pete The Monkey Festival
Fri. Sep. 9 – Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West %
Sat. Sep. 10 – Nashville, TN @ Exit/In %
Sun. Sep. 11 – Cincinnati, OH @ Woodward Theater %
Mon. Sep. 12 – Millvale, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theatre %
Wed. Sep. 14 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer %
Thu. Sep. 15 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club %
Sat. Sep. 17 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall %
Sun. Sep. 18 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw %
Tue. Sep. 20 – Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair %

% with Angel Olsen
* with Unknown Mortal Orchestra
# with Mac DeMarco

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Mother Yeti Release New Music Video For “My Best Please”

We know for sure that Mother Yeti was first spotted around 2012 at the very edge of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.