Home / News / Scala & Kolacny Brothers Celebrate 20 Years With Solstice

Scala & Kolacny Brothers Celebrate 20 Years With Solstice

Scala & Kolacny Brothers will celebrate the group’s 20th anniversary this summer with a new studio album called SOLSTICE. On it, the acclaimed Belgian rock choir puts its indelible sonic stamp on 20 songs by a group of artists who span genres and generations, from David Bowie and John Legend to Nine Inch Nails and Britney Spears.

Named for the longest day of the year, SOLSTICE will be available on June 17 – just four days before the actual summer solstice. Available exclusively as a digital download, the album’s list price is $9.99. Drawing in substantial live audiences around the world, including being the only choir to have headlined a stage at the Coachella Music Festival, Scala & Kolacny Brothers are also commemorating this double-decade milestone with a European tour.

Led by pianist/composer Steven Kolacny and his brother, conductor Stijn Kolacny, the group first captured the public’s imagination as rock’s dark choir with its haunting cover of Radiohead’s “Creep,” which was featured in the trailer for the film The Social Network. To date, the trailer has been viewed over 250 million times worldwide. Similarly, the choirs’ rendition of David Bowie’s “Heroes” is currently featured in the trailer for Ang Lee’s movie Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk, which received over 300 thousand views in one day on YouTube.

The group continues to offer up dramatic renditions of popular songs on SOLSTICE, its first studio album in five years and the follow-up to Scala & Kolacny Brothers (2011). For this new collection, the group’s powerful choral arrangements take familiar tunes to new places, like Queen’s “Fat Bottomed Girls,” Eurythmics’ “Sweet Dreams,” and the dark R.E.M. classic “The One I Love.”

With 20 songs, one for each year of the band’s journey, the album covers a great deal of musical ground and shifts genres seamlessly from the alternative rock of The Cure’s “Boys Don’t Cry,” and the pop of Michael Jackson’s “Dirty Diana,” to “Barbie Girl,” an international hit for the Danish electro-pop group Aqua.

Track Listing:

1.      “Boys Don’t Cry” – The Cure
2.      “Sweet Dreams” – Eurythmics
3.      “All of Me” – John Legend
4.      “Crash Into Me” – Dave Matthews Band
5.      “Cloudbusting” – Kate Bush
6.      “Fat Bottomed Girls” – Queen
7.      “Heroes” – David Bowie
8.      “Hungry Heart” – Bruce Springsteen
9.      “Survival” – Muse
10.    “Dirty Diana” – Michael Jackson
11.    “The One I Love” – R.E.M
12.    “Piggy” – Nine Inch Nails
13.    “Strong Enough” – Sheryl Crow
14.    “Wake Me Up When September Ends” – Green Day
15.    “Womanizer” – Britney Spears
16.    “Follow You, Follow Me” – Genesis
17.    “In The Air Tonight” – Phil Collins
18.    “Barbie Girl” – Aqua
19.    “I Don’t Like Mondays” – The Boomtown Rats
20.    “Black Hole Sun” – Soundgarden

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Jackie Greene Announces New Album 100% Greene: Live from Throckmorton Theatre

Americana and roots singer-songwriter Jackie Greene is announcing a new live solo album, 100% Greene: Live from Throckmorton …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.