Home / Entertainment / Entertainment News / Captain Fantastic (Alex Sommers) to be released July 8‏

Captain Fantastic (Alex Sommers) to be released July 8‏

Invada Records, in partnership with Lakeshore Records, announce today the release of Alex Somers’ “Captain Fantastic” original motion picture score. The CD/download will be available on July 8th via Lakeshore Records, and vinyl via Invada Records. “Captain Fantastic” will be released in theaters by Bleecker Street on July 8, 2016.

The “Captain Fantastic” soundtrack features all new compositions by American composer, musician and producer Alex Somers, who first rose to prominence in 2009 via his highly acclaimed ambient album collaboration Riceboy Sleeps, with his partner Jónsi, under the name Jónsi and Alex. Somers has since gone on to tour with Jónsi and produce his debut album “Go”, with further production work for Julianna Barwick, Sin Fang, and the last two Sigur Rós records, “Valtari” and “Kveikur”, as well as scoring the first season of WGN’s atomic bomb drama “Manh(a)ttan”.

“Captain Fantastic” tracks the story of a father (Viggo Mortensen) raising six children deep in the forests of the Pacific Northwest with a rigorous physical and intellectual education. When a family tragedy occurs however, he is forced to leave his paradise and enter the world, beginning a journey that challenges his idea of what it means to be a parent.

The film, written and directed by Matt Ross, debuted to rave reviews at the Sundance Film Festival this year, with the Guardian calling it “heartfelt, comedic, gorgeous” and Variety saying that “Viggo Mortensen gets the role he may well have been born to play” with Ben, a wildly unconventional type of patriarch.

Appropriately, the album beautifully mirrors the story’s strange, otherworldly settings, with Somers creating a score that is at once delicate yet haunting, fragile and moving, with tracks such as “Remembering” and “Water (I’m Right Here”) conjuring up a gorgeously ethereal atmosphere. The “Captain Fantastic” original score album will be released July 8th on CD/digital download by Lakeshore Records and July 29th on LP by Invada Records.

Film trailer: https://vimeo.com/164487001

Track Listing

1.    A New Beginning

2.    Church

3.    Campfire

4.    Funeral Pyre

5.    She Slit Her Wrists

6.    Memories

7.    Fireflies

8.    Home

9.    Fell

10. Dream

11. Near Death

12. Water (I’m Right Here)

13. School Bus

14. Forrest

15. Look Forward To

16. Keepsakes

17. Remembering

18. Unsoundness

19. Waving Goodbye

20. Day Of Your Birth

21. Water (Not Go Home)

22. Goodbye…

23. Disappear

24. Fortress

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Charity Bomb & Strange Entertainment in Partnership with Plex Announce “Strange 80s – A Benefit for Mental Health Rockumentary”

Charity Bomb & Strange Entertainment in partnership with Plex are proud to announce Strange 80’s …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.