Home / News / King Harvest & The Weight Release New Single + National Tour

King Harvest & The Weight Release New Single + National Tour

Due for release on 20th June 2016, and with a national tour in support, Maps is the debut album by Halifax-born musician Ben Adey – better known as King Harvest & The Weight. Infused with an undercurrent of ’70s cool; tumultuous riffs and a feverish energy, Adey describes Maps as “a high energy, good times record. It covers so many bases; it plays like the greatest lost mixtape – a dashboard discovery for a hot summer’s day! “With sensibilities hailing from a pre-punk era where song writing reigned supreme, KH&TW take seemingly disparate elements of ’60s pop and ’70s rock, and neatly package them into concise, brawny morsels of garage-rocksalt and then fire. Watch here.

Ben continues: “We unashamedly wanted to echo those beautiful, bygone days, when young people would lie back and breathe-in albums like Jailbreak, Physical Graffiti, and A Day at the Races.” But this is no cloying exercise in classic rock nostalgia. KH&TW’s infectious melodies, sun-dappled hooks and uplifting choruses channel a freewheeling spirit that has never gone out of style. Recalling his own musical upbringing, Ben surmises, “I guess I was pretty lucky! The staple diet was a mixture of Queen, Humble Pie, Otis Redding, the Stevies – Wonder and Winwood – and stacks of Stax and Motown. It’s a diverse selection, and those influences have never strayed far. “Before the album I spent a lot of time reassessing what music meant to me and why I wanted to write and record music – you know; ‘what’s this all about?’ I wanted to get back to the thing that had excited me in the first place: the strongest of songs, delivered with adrenaline and style. ‘Maps’ is the embodiment of that mission statement.”

Maps was recorded during the second half of 2015 by Steve Royston-Smith, “in the darkest depths of West Yorkshire. Everything was done very traditionally – tracked live wherever possible, with a minimum of overdubs.” Among the album’s many collaborators are M G Boulter (Simone Felice, Duke & The King), Andy Bruce (Erland and The Carnival, Kathryn Williams, Ren Harvieu), Rosie Doonan (Peter Gabriel), Conor Lawrence (Flesh), and CJ Smith of Roger Taylor and Brian May’s pre-Queen band, Smile. 



1.Howl (Read by WATT)

2. When It Stops

3. Dream

4. This Town

5. Roads.

6. Morning Light

7. Unstuck

8. Diana

9. Bloodsport

10. Hurricanes

11. The Night

12. New York Is Dangerous

13. While I’m High

14. Constant Reminder.


Tour Dates:

Aces & Eights, London, June 10th

The Trades Club, Hebden Bridge, June 17th

The Castle, Manchester, June 19th

The Glad Cafe, Glasgow, June 25th

The Voodoo Rooms, Edinburgh, June 26th

IRELAND Pine Lodge, Cork, July 1st

Roisn Dubh, Galway, July 2nd

Grand Social, Dublin, July 3rd






About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Alice Pisano Releases Stripped Down Version Of “Stay”

It’s out now on Vevo the stripped back live video of Alice Pisano’s latest single …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.