Joshua Winstead Release New Music Video

The new track “Games” from Joshua Winstead’s upcoming album premieres today via Glide Magazine, who calls it, “a lush jewel of a composition that finds Winstead able to recreate the sounds in his head with the aptness of a true visionary.” Of the track Winstead says, “There are songs that come to you out of the ether, as a feeling as if they were known from long ago, the song ‘Games’ was one those songs for me….It is my favorite track to turn up loud and play air drums and air bass to.” See the post HERE and share HERE.

Winstead, the bass player and long-time member of critically celebrated quartet, Metric, will release his debut solo album MMXX via Royal Cut Records on June 3. The Pay-What-You-Want, 11 track album will be available at Winstead’s website  PopMatters recently premiered the video for “One Heart,” which you can watch HERE.

After more than a decade playing with Metric, and contributing to all six of their critically acclaimed albums, Winstead set out to record his first proper solo music with a desire to “just try to establish my own voice.”  He notes, his desire to make a solo record “stemmed from writing all these very personal songs and served as a way to connect with his lifelong love of singing.”

“I grew up singing and I played in a number of rock bands where I was always a singer/guitar player.  I realized that I really missed singing, and knew it was time to make an album.”

Primarily recorded at Brooklyn’s Mission Sound, as well as studios across the world while on tour with Metric, each of the tracks was written and produced by Winstead, with the exception of some live drums, the multi-instrumentalist made the record entirely on his own, recording all the vocals, playing piano, guitar, bass, synthesizers, harmonium, and trumpet.

Winstead says that “while the record is largely concerned with matters of the heart, there is also a deep political component to MMXX.”  He explains, “MM stands for Malcolm X and Martin Luther King, Jr., while the two X’s have a double meaning representing love and death. These two men loved you in different ways and fought for you in different ways, and they essentially died for the same reasons. Growing up as a biracial person, it was a deep and difficult thing to figure out what it means to be both black and white. The record among other things has a lot to do with coming to terms with racism and generally being an empathetic person.” MMXX is a record about love and overcoming fears.

MMXX Track listing

1.  One Heart

2.  Beautiful Prison

3.  A Poison Cup

4. Games

5.  What’s What

6.  Frozen Lakes

7.  The Streets

8.  Cold Battle

9.  The Time It Takes

10.  Here We Are

11.  Complications

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Imaginary People Share New Single “1999 – Just Vote;” New Album Alibi Out In 2021

After beginning the promotional campaign for their third LP back in February, Imaginary People had to hit the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.