Home / News / MATT COSTA releases final EP in series, ANCHOR & THE ALBATROSS‏

MATT COSTA releases final EP in series, ANCHOR & THE ALBATROSS‏

Southern California-based singer/songwriter MATT COSTA will release his latest EP ANCHOR & THE ALBATROSS on May 6, 2016. The four-song EP is the final release in a series of five different EP’s that Costa wrote, recorded, and self-released, each unique in style, approach, and concept.

“Anchor & The Albatross” is one of my favorite story songs I’ve written,” commented Costa. “It’s a fairy tale about things that have moved away or passed through our lives and are buried deep in the unconscious.”

I was able to release and share the music that was closet to me in real time,” said Costa about the series. “Each release was a bridge to the next phase of my art.”

The five song Eucalyptus EP kicked off the series last February and showcases intricate fingerpicking on the mostly acoustic tunes. The garage-rock bedroom recordings on the Cat Mosta EP came next in July, while the more sophisticated compositions on November’s Neon Brain were the first to be recorded in a studio instead of Costa’s Laguna Beach, California home. The fourth EP, Live in London, was released in January and featured three previously unreleased songs recorded live on tour.

I can’t pick a favorite from the series, but ‘Smeared Pointillist Painting’ and ‘Bee Keeper Becomes Eucalyptus’ are in the style that made me fall in love with acoustic guitar. Twelve string guitars and organ solos complete a love hate relationship with capitalism on ‘Green Devil.’ And ‘Neon Brain’ being the centerpiece was the moment of transcendence.”

Costa recently wrote and recorded the score to the award-winning new documentary, Orange Sunshine, a portrait of the sixties revolutionary group, Brotherhood of Eternal Love, which became the largest suppliers of LSD during the late 60’s and early 70’s.

Colored Glass Radio, the hour-long radio show hosted by Costa on KX 93.5, continues and is available streaming on Soundcloud or by download through iTunes.

Anchor & The Albatross Track Listing:

  1. Anchor & The Albatross

  2. Brand New Feeling

  3. Calista

  4. Grandfather Clock

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Alice Pisano Releases Stripped Down Version Of “Stay”

It’s out now on Vevo the stripped back live video of Alice Pisano’s latest single …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.