Misha Debuts “We’re Gonna Have It Out (Modern Love)” Today, All We Will Become out 5/20‏

Misha, multi-instrumentalist and songwriter J Chao with singer Ronit Granot, debuts the percussive, melodic “We’re Gonna Have It Out (Modern Love),” a new track from their highly anticipated second album All We Will Become, today. Listen here. All We Will Become, the first new music from the band in eight years, is out May 20 on TOMLAB.

“‘We’re Gonna Have It Out’ was inspired by New Year celebrations in New York City’s Chinatown—with the mix of bright colors, percussion, and sense of joy,” Chao says. “I wanted to capture the feeling of walking down Canal Street with fireworks going off, families gathered around, and of playfulness.”

All We Will Become is a follow-up to the band’s acclaimed Teardrop Sweetheart and heralds the relaunch of TOMLAB—the Berlin label renowned for its releases of The Books, Owen Pallett, Patrick Wolf and many more—marking the first major U.S. release from the label since 2008. Watch the trailer for All We Will Become at https://vimeo.com/158211155.

All We Will Become marks the rebirth of Misha and TOMLAB, with the band emerging from a hiatus with a bolder expression of the pop sensibilities introduced on Teardrop Sweetheart–and reflects influences as diverse and specific as New Orleans second line and Texas drum corps.

Written in the wake of his breakup with his partner and former bandmate, All We Will Become deals with Buddhist themes of reincarnation and renewal. “For me, the songs on All We Will Become are about the many ways love appears in our lives—from the heady rush to bittersweetness of endings—and above all, the endless possibilities all around us,” says Chao.

Chao wrote and performed nearly all of the music on the album, with additional contributions from vocalists Granot and Amy Vachal, as well as members of the Long Winters and Lee Field & The Expressions. All We Will Become was mixed by James Clarke, Jr. of Mirrorball Entertainment (Autre Ne Vuet) and mastered by James Krausse (Beyoncé, Nick Jonas).

Chao was born in Taiwan and raised between Hong Kong, Louisiana and Texas, playing in myriad bands along the way. Misha was founded with his former romantic and creative partner, and together they recorded and released Teardrop Sweetheart—which garnered notice and acclaim from Stereogum, Pitchfork, XLR8R, Teen Vogue, MTV and more—before splitting thereafter.


1. This is How it Must Begin
2. You
3. We’re Gonna Have it Out (Modern Love)
4. Limelight
5. Optical Illusion of the Heart
6. Elater
7. Nightshades
8. In Reverse
9. Blood Is Hard Enough
10. Everywhere and Everything
11. Lion Bark (Luminous)
12. Chartres

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Lindsey Stirling and Mako Release Emotive New Single “Lose You Now”

Lindsey Stirling and artist, producer, and songwriter Mako have released their new single “Lose You Now” along with an accompanying …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.