Japan’s sleek dream-pop quartet The fin. announce new EP and share video for ‘Through The Deep’ ahead of their UK tour and gig at The Great Escape, plus Tokyo show with The Last Shadow Puppets

There’s a theme running through the beauteous new EP by The fin. that permeates more than just the song titles. Oceanic imagery features heavily in Yuto Uchino’s lyrics, as references to ship, shore and submersion loom large. The singer articulates these tales of impermanence and transition to a shimmering, sophisticated indie art-pop backing that will be familiar to fin. fans, even though there’s a greater electronic influence to this EP, as synths carry more of the weight, melodically and rhythmically.

Opener ‘White Breath’ builds on its vehement piano/vocal intro to envelop a cropped hypnotic groove with springy keyboard stabs, dubby fx and, of course, Uchino’s soaring harmonies. “I saw you jumped into the sea/What could you see from there?” the singer then questions to the symphonic arpeggios of ‘Divers’, set to a characteristically minimalist beat and crunchy bassline that segues into a second act of controlled yet quietly euphoric trance-pop.

The title track, ‘Through The Deep’ opens with a swell of surf guitar and thump of percussive kick drum that evolves into a stylish, deceptively complex composition that hums with sonic exploration and an ambient energy that will only tease the listener with its brevity. Even shorter is the 67 seconds of ‘Heat’, which finds The fin. at their most stripped down, just a wash of sine-waves, a sparkling melodic refrain and Yuto’s distinctive tones proclaiming the sudden onset of intensity. Finally, ‘Anchorless Ship’ is a modest masterwork of smooth, uncluttered funk built on a sustained pulse resembling the sonar ping of a submarine’s radar. A wash of synth then announces a change of course towards the tune’s expansive, ecstatic coda, as Yuto sings about deeper immersion in dreams.

The compelling video to ‘Through The Deep’ depicts a colourful traveller in a post-apocalyptic landscape, who happens upon a decrepit fairground and its ageing inhabitant. It’s a video full of grace, space and mystique, and as such is the perfect accompaniment to the ethereal wonder of The fin.’s new EP. Watch here.

Tracklisting for Through The Deep

  1. White Breath

  2. Divers

  3. Through The Deep

  4. Heat

  5. Anchorless Ship

See The fin. live.


27 Tokyo,JP – Studio Coast (The Last Shadow Puppets support)

13 London, UK – The Finsbury

14 Southampton, UK – The Alex

15 London, UK – Old Queens Head

19 Reading, UK – The Purple Turtle

21 Brighton, UK – The Great Escape

26 London, UK – Tooting Tram & Social

27 Portsmouth, UK – The Edge of The Wedge


09 Hong Kong – Hang Out

10 Taipei, Taiwan – THE WALL

16 Sendai, JP – CLUB SHAFT


18 Shizuoka, JP – FREAKSHOW

19 Kyoto, JP – METRO

21 Hiroshima, JP – 4.14

22 Fukuoka, JP – The Voodoo Lounge

25 Sappro, JP – KRAPS HALL


02 Kobe,JP – Rokko Sun Music

Social Media





About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Beauty Pill Releases New Single “Instant Night;” Watch the Provocative New Video Featuring artist/illustrator Ryan Nelson

Washington, D.C.-based band Beauty Pill is pleased to present their new single and accompaning video for “Instant Night.” It is the band’s third …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.