Home / News / STEWART LINDSEY To Release Debut Album ‘SPITBALLIN’ In June‏

STEWART LINDSEY To Release Debut Album ‘SPITBALLIN’ In June‏

Singer, songwriter, musician DAVE STEWART has announced his first duo since topping the charts as co-founder of the Eurythmics.  Partnering with DeRidder, Louisianaborn and raised THOMAS LINDSEY, the two–known as STEWART LINDSEY–have announced the release of their debut album SPITALLIN‘, due out in June (exact date TBA) on Membran USA/SONY.

The excitement begins with today’s premiere of the April 29 release of the album’s haunting first single, “Another Lie” on KCRW. The disarming video for the single–with 13-year-old Indya Love, in an unusual twist, acting out the song’s lyrics of love and deceit alongside STEWART and LINDSEY–can be seen here on the KCRW Music Blog.  To mark the album’s release, SPITALLIN‘ will be available as a double vinyl with four live tracks and a code to download four electro mixes.

The DAVE STEWART-produced SPITBALLIN’ would never have happened if not for one Twitter message that turned STEWART‘s world upside down.  STEWART has seen and done it all, but none of it prepared him for what he would hear from THOMAS LINDSEY.  “I read it and clicked on the link,” STEWART recalls. “And there he was, singing something on a YouTube video. I don’t remember what it was but there was no music. He was singing a cappella. And I went, ‘Holy crap!'”  STEWART got in touch with his young admirer and invited him to send examples of his original material.

“It was really amazing stuff. So I asked if he wanted to come out to Los Angeles and sing three songs unaccompanied before my show at the Troubadour,” STEWART says.  Following their live debut, STEWART and LINDSEY began writing together by sending audio files back and forth between L.A. and Louisiana. Working long distance seemed to bring them closer as they built a catalog of songs.

Their common ground proved as lush as Delta marshland.  A down-and-dirty delta guitar riff.  A thumping drum beat. And a stunning vocal intro, urgent, haunted, earthy and spiritual, with blues-drenched filigrees, a vibrato that shocks like an electric current, a range that defies not just convention but gravity itself.  Backed by STEWART‘s distorted voodoo guitar licks, LINDSEY opens “Leave This Town” in free tempo and then a swampy groove kicks in–just guitar and drums, raw and wild. “Two People” unfolds over a stomping beat that leads to a long vamp over which Lindsey improvises with hair-raising intensity and finesse. Churchy echoes permeate “When Dogs Run,” with a mournful organ providing the backdrop to STEWART‘s Pop Staples-style guitar tremolo. “Alcohol” boils down to organ and LINDSEY‘s voice recounting a riveting elegy for someone who was “lost to alcohol.”

Some of the stories behind the lyrics on these songs are sad, but true and some more fanciful. To write “Crocodile,” for instance, LINDSEY admits “I tried to write a song that would seem like something from a shoe commercial! I had this image of a woman in bad-ass crocodile boots, walking down the street. That’s how that song formed.”

Regardless of the inspiration, these songs and the others that comprise SPITBALLIN’ are at the very least unlike anything you’ve heard in recent years.

Here’s the tracklisting for SPITBALLIN’:

1. Leave This Town

2. Another Lie

3. Friend Zone

4. Lonely

5. When Dogs Run Away

6. Look at Those Flames

7. Two People

8. Run From You

9. Confidence

10. Crocodile

11. Alcohol

12. Dear God

For more information on STEWART LINDSEY, visit:


About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Cold War Kids have released two new songs — “Complainer” and “4th of July” — the …

One comment

  1. I heard the first release at 4 am as i sleep with radio, the song woke me i actually grabbed my phone to check the KINK playlist then stayed up for the next 3 hours listening to the entire album, (you know what I mean), i have been a fan of Dave Stewart for years, but this is a Grammy winning album, mark my word, this is some serious talent Mr. Thomas Lindsey has has an old soul voice, righteous vibrato.
    I honestly cant sit still when listen to this.
    Thanks Dave you sound awesome never better, and all the best to Thomas Lindsey you future is BRIGHT.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.