The Tragically Hip, among Canada’s most acclaimed and beloved bands, today announce the June 17 release of Man Machine Poem via Universal Music Canada, the country’s leading music company. The band’s 14th studio album takes its name from a track on their Gold-selling 2012 release, Now For Plan A, and was recorded at The Hip’s home studio The Bathouse, produced by Kevin Drew (Broken Social Scene, Andy Kim, Arts & Crafts label co-founder) and Dave Hamelin (The Stills). Man Machine Poem is available for preorder  now and offers fans an instant grat of first single In A World Possessed By The Human Mind.

“We’re moving forward while embracing a memory,” says Kevin Drew. “That was what I said to the band going into this recording.” He explains that muscle memory is why we love songs, it’s the most important thing a band has. “This album is about three things,” he continues. “Memory, transformation, and truth. I think it’s a fantastic record.”

For thirty years, The Tragically Hip has been at the heart of the Canadian musical zeitgeist for evoking a strong emotional connection between their music and their fans that remains unrivaled in this country.  A five-piece group of friends including Robby Baker (guitar), Gordon Downie (vocals, guitar), Johnny Fay (drums), Paul Langlois (guitar) and Gord Sinclair (bass), who grew up in Kingston, Ontario, The Hip has achieved the enviable status of a band that enjoys both mass popularity with over 8 million albums sold worldwide, as well as peer recognition through 11 Juno Awards from more than a dozen recordings.

The Tragically Hip are in the best possible place a band can be: they’re brothers, they play so easily together, comfortable in their skins enough to try any idea, confident enough to know what’s right. No team of ace Swedish consultant-writers needed; The Hip know it’s their duty as artists to feel something and the listener is going to get an uncommon honesty in Man Machine Poem.

Everything is clear

just how you described

the way it appears

a world possessed by the human mind

Then I think I smiled

I think you said ‘it’s fine’

and quietly I dressed in a world possessed completely by the human mind


Man Machine Poem tracklisting:

  1. Man

  2. In A World Possessed By The Human Mind

  3. What Blue

  4. In Sarnia

  5. Here, In The Dark

  6. Great Soul

  7. Tired As Fuck

  8. Hot Mic

  9. Ocean Next

  10. Machine

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Canaan Smith Releases New Music Video For “Beer Drinking Weather”

As the summer is coming to a close, crank up a new release from rising …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.