Home / News / Nico Yaryan Release New Music Video + Announce New Album

Nico Yaryan Release New Music Video + Announce New Album

LA-based and NoCal bred artist Nico Yaryan is thrilled to announce that he will be releasing his debut album, What A Tease, on June 3rd, 2016 via Partisan Records. The intimate, 11-song collection tells the uncomplicated tale of complicated transcontinental love, and is the perfect introduction to this exciting new voice. In conjunction with this news, Yaryan has also released the brand new video for his heartfelt lead single “Just Tell Me,” which was featured on FOX’s Empire and has accumulated 2 million streams on Spotify. PRESS HERE to watch the stunning video, directed by Daniel Henry (Kurt Vile, Jack White, Vanessa Carlton), via Noisey! PRESS HERE to pre-order What A Tease via iTunes and PRESS HERE to pre-order on vinyl and CD. All pre-orders come with an instant grat download of “Just Tell Me” and “Old Gloria.”

Nico tells Noisey, “I hit up Daniel Henry to direct this video because I’m a big fan of his work, and he came all the way out from Nashville to make it happen. We shot at the Inglewood Swapmeet with the amazingly talented Kate Arizmendi as Director of Photography, and we ended up casting a few people that were working and shopping in there. It was a lot of fun! I used to work at a sneaker shop so I had to get some white Air Force Ones in a featured role, too.”

Yaryan, who was raised by Northern California hippies, took a leap of faith when his close friend from high school, Hanni El Khatib, asked him if he’d join him on the road as his touring drummer. He set off and spent two years traveling the world with El Khatib and his bandmates. This experience would bring into his world two of his greatest loves: the first was the guitar, an instrument he’d been too intimidated to learn as a teen. He eventually began writing and recording his own music, which ultimately led to him outgrowing the touring gig.

The second, was an unlikely romance with a student from Amsterdam that he met while on tour. The two remained in touch, and when he parted ways with the band, Yaryan decided to take a chance and returned to Amsterdam for a visit – that ended up lasting for a month. Once he got back to Los Angeles, he immediately embarked on a quest to find work that could help fund a return to his new found love. With mostly experience in retail, an industry that doesn’t take kindly to inconsistent schedules, Nico ended up securing a job trimming at a marijuana farm in Humboldt County, which enabled him to continue the long-distance courtship. 

As their relationship began to crumble in the face of geographical and financial adversity, the songs that would become What A Tease began to blossom. Opening with the tattered allegory of “Old Gloria” and the lonely masochism of “You Belong to Me,” the record lets more than a little darkness surface: the agony of watching yourself fuck up a good thing became “Just Tell Me”; the shifting nature of success informed “Dreamers”; mistrusting the nature of his love led Nico to “Witch Love.” But throughout, there’s an undercurrent of perseverance and determined tenderness.

Nico Yaryan is set to perform at The Echo in Los Angeles on Monday, April 25th. PRESS HERE for tickets. For a taste of his live show, PRESS HERE to check out his session with Paste Magazine. See album artwork and track listing below, and stay tuned for more!

PRESS HERE to check out “Old Gloria” via KCRW.

PRESS HERE to purchase the Just Tell Me 7”, which features “The Magic” on Side B.

Track listing:

1. Old Gloria

2.  You Belong To Me

3. Just Tell Me

4. Dreamers

5. The Magic

6. Infinity

7. What A Tease

8. Nobody Tells My Baby

9. Witch Love

10. Your Love Never Lets Me Down

11. I’ll Stay With You When You Die

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Said The Sky and Dabin Unleash ‘Dab The Sky’ Collaboration ‘Hero’

Riding a massive wave of success from their 2018 collaboration ‘Superstar’ – melodic champions Dabin and Said The …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.