French producer duo Cassius (Philippe Zdar & Hubert Blanc–Francard) have announced details of their first album in ten years.  Ibifornia will be released on June 24 via Interscope/Polydor Records/Universal Music Canada. Two new songs debut today – “Go Up” (featuring Cat Power & Pharrell Williams) and “The Missing” (featuring Ryan Tedder & Jaw) – are available immediately when pre-ordering the album, alongside the full-length version of their recent surprise track, “Action” which premiered on Pitchfork last month.

It’s important to start with the title, because that’s what Cassius did. Before Zdar and Boombass began working in earnest on their latest album, they decided it would be called Ibifornia. A portmanteau of Ibiza and California, Ibifornia is an imaginary utopia, which they say is, “inside every one of us.” Once they had dreamed up a location, they could set about giving it a soundtrack. The result is a panoramic extravaganza of disco, funk, house, soul, afrobeat, synth-pop, psychedelia, hip-hop and gospel. Though it’s more a feeling, rather than a specific sound – generous, optimistic, and emotional – Ibifornia is also the culmination of a lifetime of ideas.

On the two new songs premiering today – Zdar commented – “the Cassius and the Family Stone” tone to Ibifornia, which features an all-star cast of long-term collaborators and friends. Joining Cat Power on the hypnotic house anthem “Go Up” is Pharrell Williams, who worked with the band on the 2006 track “Eye Water.” OneRepublic’s Ryan Tedder guests on “The Missing,” the jubilant blue-eyed soul romp that welcomes the listener to the strange, joyous world of Ibifornia.

Cassius’ story thus far is already the stuff of dance music mythology. They emerged amidst Paris’ defining French Touch movement, where the likes of “Feeling For You,” “1999” and “The Sound of Violence” – alongside friends such as Daft Punk – helped shape the future of electronic music. It was an intimate scene which always proved conducive to collaboration, and soon provided the band with distractions on a global scale: Zdar has become a Grammy-award winning producer and mixer for his work on seminal albums from Phoenix, Kindness, Bloc Party, Chromeo, and Ibifornia collaborators Cat Power, Beastie Boys and Pharrell Williams. Yet as the influence of French house was felt further still in recent years – Kanye West and Jay Z even sampled the band on their Watch The Throne project – it always came back to the dance-floor, to club-culture, and to Cassius: the long-standing friendship between Zdar and Boombass who continued to write, perform and bide their time in assembling this stunning new record.


  1. The Missing ft. Ryan Tedder & Jaw

  2. Love Parade ft. Mike D

  3. Action ft. Cat Power & Mike D

  4. Go Up ft. Cat Power & Pharell Williams

  5. Ibifornia

  6. Hey You ft. Ryan Tedder

  7. Feel Like Me ft. Cat Power

  8. Blue Jean Smile ft. John Gourley of “Portugal. The Man”

  9. The Sound Of Love ft. Jaw

  10. Ponce

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Fig’s Vision Announce New EP ‘Choo Choo’, Out 8/15 // Watch Music Video for “Boy Pressure” Now

Fig’s Vision returns with the announcement of their new EP Choo Choo, which will be released on August 15. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.