Home / News / American Psycho:Origional London Cast Recording streaming on Entertainment Weekly, Music & lyrics by Duncan Sheik, Out March 25 on Concord‏

American Psycho:Origional London Cast Recording streaming on Entertainment Weekly, Music & lyrics by Duncan Sheik, Out March 25 on Concord‏

GRAMMY and Tony Award-winning musician Duncan Sheik’s American Psycho: Original London Cast Recording is now streaming in full exclusively via Entertainment Weekly. Listen HERE. Sheik told EW.com “as I worked on the show over the course of the past five years I started getting deeper and deeper into software as a way of making cool electronic music. That became the platform on which I was creating the score,” he went on to say “early house music and early techno and a lot of electronic pop music from the UK and Europe…those became the touchstones for the sound and the score.”  The album will be available on March 25 via Concord Records. The album’s release will coincide with the show’s U.S. premiere on Broadway, with previews beginning March 24 at the Gerald Schoenfeld Theater.

The album features the cast of the highly acclaimed, sold-out run in London. The album is executive produced by Sheik, David Johnson and Jesse Singer. All instrumentation is by Sheik and the album was mixed and mastered at his Sneaky Studios in Garrison, NY and in Parliament Hill, London.

This London cast recording features Matt Smith (best known for his role as the Eleventh Doctor in the BBC science fiction series “Doctor Who,” for which he received a BAFTA Award nomination) as Patrick Bateman, Gillian Kirkpatrick as Patrick’s Mother/Mrs. Wolfe, Cassandra Compton as Patrick’s secretary Jean, and Susannah Fielding as Patrick’s girlfriend, Evelyn Williams.  The London cast also included Ben Aldridge, Charlie Anson, Jonathan Bailey, Katie Brayben, Holly Dale Spencer, Simon Gregor, Holly James, Lucie Jones, Tom Kay, Eugene McCoy, and Hugh Skinner.

Set in the excess of 1980s Manhattan, American Psycho is based on the novel by Bret Easton Ellis and tells the story of Patrick Bateman, a young and handsome Wall Street banker who pursues his darkest American dreams. Directed by Olivier Award-winner Rupert Goold (King Charles III), American Psycho has a book by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa (“Glee”) and choreography by Tony Award nominee Lynne Page (La Cage Aux Folles).

American Psycho had its world premiere at the Almeida Theatre in London from December 3, 2013 through February 1, 2014. The sold-out production was presented by The Almeida Theatre and Headlong in association with Act 4 Entertainment (David Johnson & Jesse Singer).

The cast of the forthcoming U.S. version is a who’s who of Broadway notables, with the lead role of Bateman played by Benjamin Walker (Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson).  The cast also includes Tony Award-winner Alice Ripley (Next to Normal) as Patrick’s Mother/Mrs. Wolfe; Tony Award nominee Jennifer Damiano (Next to Normal) as Patrick’s secretary Jean, and Heléne Yorke (Bullets over Broadway, “Masters of Sex”) as Patrick’s girlfriend, Evelyn, among others.

In addition to his new album and American Psycho, Deaf West’s interpretation of Spring Awakening just completed an acclaimed limited engagement on Broadway. The original 2006 version of the musical orchestrated by Sheik went on to win eight Tony Awards. Sheik alone earned two awards for “Best Orchestration” and “Best Original Score” as well as a GRAMMY Award for “Best Musical Show Album,” which he produced. He followed with the musical theater production Whisper House, which was directed by Peter Askin (Hedwig and the Angry Inch) and written by Kyle Jarrow, and Hans Christian Andersen’s The Nightingale.

Launching his musical career in 1996 with his self-titled debut, Sheik quickly earned a Grammy nomination for “Best Male Vocal” for his hit “Barely Breathing,” which spent 55 weeks on the Billboard Hot 100 Chart. He subsequently garnered critical accolades for his unique brand of folk-pop music with 2006’s White Limousine and his 2-CD collection of songs titled Brighter/Later: A Duncan Sheik Anthology.

American Psycho: Original London Cast Recording Track Listing:

1.    Opening (Morning Routine) (3:32)

2.    Cards (3:16)

3.    You Are What You Wear (4:07)

4.    Oh Sri Lanka (2:18)

5.    True Faith (1:31)

6.    Killing Time (3:12)

7.    In The Air Tonight (2:23)

8.    Hardbody / Hardbody Luis (5:54)

9.    If We Get Married (2:29)

10.    Not A Common Man (3:10)

11.    Mistletoe Alert (3:11)

12.       Clean (2:33)

13.    Killing Spree (4:40)

14.    Nice Thought (2:34)

15.    At The End Of An Island / Hardbody Hamptons (3:48)

16.    I Am Back (2:53)

17.    A Girl Before (3:42)

18.    Don’t You Want Me? (1:16)

19.    This Is Not An Exit (5:07)

Additional Music:

20.    Selling Out (Fischer King Remix) (4:05)

21.    Everybody Wants To Rule The World (Duncan Sheik Remix) (3:24)

22.       Killing Time 2.0 (2:58)

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also


Allen Stone’s forthcoming record Building Balance will be released November 8th (ATO Records), taking his soul-stirring R&B …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.