Home / News / London’s The Boxer Rebellion Premiere ‘Big Ideas’ From New LP Via USA Today‏

London’s The Boxer Rebellion Premiere ‘Big Ideas’ From New LP Via USA Today‏

London quartet The Boxer Rebellion are proud to reveal ‘Big Ideas’, the first single from its highly anticipated new album Ocean By Ocean (Friday, April 29, Absentee Recordings/Kobalt). ‘Big Ideas’ is an atmospheric, climactic single that beautifully combines both the intimate and the epic. It sees the band at their finest, with stylish, delayed guitars and pulsing rhythms all tied together with frontman Nathan Nicholson’s captivating vocals. “It’s about meeting someone special but at the wrong time in your life,” Nicholson says. “You feel lucky to have met them but also, because of the bad timing, like you have the very worst kind of luck.” Stream the song via USA Today or YouTube, and from today (March 3), fans can instantly download the track for free when the album is pre-ordered at iTunes or Amazon.

Three years since the band’s fourth album, Promises, and with the addition of new guitarist Andrew Smith, Ocean By Ocean presents itself as an accomplished, beautifully orchestrated and impeccably freighted album, with a depth of emotion to every one of the 10 songs that lift each towards the hymnal. Produced by the band in conjunction with the notable Billy Bush (Garbage, Jake Bugg, Against Me!), the sound is brooding and ruminative, with singer Nathan Nicholson’s rising falsetto casting an eerie lava lamp glow on songs that sound good before midnight, and even better afterwards. It is quite simply the band’s most complete record to date.

The Boxer Rebellion
is one of those rare bands who stay the course. Rarer still are the ones who get better over the years until quietly, astutely, they deliver their classic. The Boxer Rebellion are one of those bands, and Ocean By Ocean is one of those records.

The Boxer Rebellion will be returning to the U.S. for appearances in New York City and Los Angeles in May, with a full North American tour to follow later this year. Dates below with more to be added shortly.

17 – New York, NY – Mercury Lounge (tickets)
19 – Los Angeles, CA – The Masonic Lodge at Hollywood Forever

track listing:
01. Weapon
02. Big Ideas
03. Let’s Disappear
04. Pull Yourself Together
05. Firework
06. Keep Me Close
07. Redemption
08. The Fog I Was Lost In
09. You Can Love Me
10. Let It Go

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

PREMIERE: JoBee Releases New Single ‘Burning Sense’

Fierce, fiery and full of flavour, Polish Brussels-based artist JoBee Project teams up with a …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.