Home / News / Johnny Hates Jazz announce UK tour‏

Johnny Hates Jazz announce UK tour‏

In 1987, as the era of Electronic Pop and New Romantics was reaching its culmination, Anglo-American group Johnny Hates Jazz were catapulted to success with the release of their single ‘Shattered Dreams’ on Virgin Records. It became a top 5 hit worldwide, reaching number 2 in the USA and Japan, and has since been played over 3 million times on American radio alone.

‘Shattered Dreams’ was followed by other hits including the anti-war anthem ‘I Don’t Want To Be A Hero’, ‘Turn Back The Clock’ (featuring Kim Wilde) and ‘Heart Of Gold’. Their album ‘Turn Back The Clock’ entered the UK charts at number 1, going double-platinum and selling 4 million copies in the process. It is arguably one of the definitive albums of the 1980’s, and is one of only two debut albums released by Virgin Records that immediately went to the top of the charts upon its release — the other being ‘Never Mind The Bollocks’ by The Sex Pistols.

The band went their separate ways shortly afterwards, deciding to focus on other musical projects instead. In fact, over the next 20 years, they completely lost contact with one and other.

However in 2010, original members Clark Datchler (lead singer/songwriter/keyboard player) and Mike Nocito (producer/engineer/guitarist) decided to come back together to write, record and produce a brand new Johnny Hates Jazz album for the modern era. At the same time, they began to perform live at international festivals.

That album, titled ‘Magnetized’, was completed and released in 2013. The title track was quickly A-listed and became a huge radio hit in both the UK and Germany. Unfortunately, Clark was diagnosed with a serious illness soon after, and all promotion came to an abrupt halt.

By early 2014, he had made a full recovery and JHJ began to perform again at festivals in Europe and Asia. Since then, the band have been working on various studio projects, while Clark has been co-writing the new Mike and The Mechanics album with Mike Rutherford.

JHJ will be performing at theatres and festivals throughout the UK in 2016, and aim to bring both the ‘Turn Back The Clock’ and ‘Magnetized’ albums to an ever-increasing international audience.

Tour Dates:

28 February – Butlins, Minehead
3 March – The Stables, Milton Keynes
4 March – Darwen Library Theatre, Blackburn
6 March – The Robin 2, Wolverhampton
17 March – Concorde Club, Eastleigh
18 March – Hippodrome, London
24 March – Theatre Severn, Shrewsbury
25 March – Howden Park Centre, Livingston

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Summer Cannibals Break Free With “Behave”

Summer Cannibals’ will release their highly anticipated fourth album Can’t Tell Me No this Friday, June 28 on Tiny …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.