Home / News / JEAN-MICHEL JARRE Set to Release ‘Electronica Vol. 2: The Heart of Noise’ May 6 via Sony Music/RED‏

JEAN-MICHEL JARRE Set to Release ‘Electronica Vol. 2: The Heart of Noise’ May 6 via Sony Music/RED‏

Following on from the unprecedented success of Electronica Vol. 1: The Time Machine, The Godfather of Electronic Music–JEAN-MICHEL JARRE–now pulls back the curtain on the details for Vol. 2 of his Electronica project, titled THE HEART OF NOISE.  It is set for a May 6 release via Sony Music/RED, and those who pre-order the album, starting next Friday, February 26, will receive the first and title track, “The Heart of Noise“–made with fellow countryman, Rone–as an instant free download.  Also for those who purchase the U.S. edition of the album is a bonus track, an exclusive remix by Armin Van Buuren of “Stardust,” his collaboration with JARRE from Electronica Vol. 1.

Having amassed a mesmerizing collection of collaborators to take part on Vol. 1: The Time Machine which upon release last year became one of JARRE’s most successful releases, the Frenchman has now secured another fifteen of music’s most iconic artists to take part on THE HEART OF NOISE.

This time around Rone, Pet Shop Boys, Primal Scream, E.S., Julia Holter, Gary Numan, Jeff Mills, Peaches, Siriusmo, Yello, The Orb, Sebastien Tellier, Hans Zimmer, Cyndi Lauper and Christophe have all been handpicked by JARRE to complete his Electronica double album project. As with Vol. 1, JARRE personally connected with each of his collaborators and travelled extensively to work together on the music.

View the album’s trailer here: 


THE HEART OF NOISE is a tribute to Luigi Russolo, Italian composer and builder of experimental musical instruments, who proposed in 1913 in his futurist manifestoArt of Noises,‘ a number of conclusions about how electronics and other technology would allow futurist musicians to “substitute for the limited variety of timbres that the orchestra possesses today the infinite variety of timbres in noises, reproduced with appropriate mechanisms.” Russolo predicted the dawn of the synthesiser and electronic music.

“I’ve wanted to tell a story for a while regarding electronic music history and its legacy from my point of view and experience, from when I started to nowadays,” says JARRE. “So I planned to compose for and collaborate with an array of artists who are, directly or indirectly linked to this scene, with people I admire for their singular contribution to our genre, that represent a source of inspiration for me over the last four decades I have been making music, but who also have an instantly recognizable sound.”

Furthermore, 2016 will see JARRE’s return to the stage, with festival performances confirmed so far at Sónar and Melt this summer, followed by an international arena tour commencing in Europe this autumn.

Full tracklisting for ELECTRONICA VOL. 2: THE HEART OF NOISE is:

1.    The Heart of Noise Pt. 1:  JM Jarre & Rone

2.    The Heart of Noise Pt. 2:  JM Jarre

3.    Brick England:  JM Jarre & Pet Shop Boys

4.    As One:  JM Jarre & Primal Scream

5.    Exit – JM Jarre & E.S

6.    These Creatures:  JM Jarre  & Julia Holter

7.    Here For You:  JM Jarre & Gary Numan

8.    The Architect: JM Jarre & Jeff Mills

9.    What You Want:  JM Jarre & Peaches

10.  Circus:  JM Jarre & Siriusmo

11.  Why This, Why That, Why:  JM Jarre & Yello

12.  Switch On Leon:  JM Jarre & The Orb

13.  Gisele:  JM Jarre & Sebastien Tellier

14.  Electrees:  JM Jarre & Hans Zimmer

15.  Swipe To The Right:  JM Jarre & Cyndi Lauper

16.  Walking The Mile:  JM Jarre & Christophe

17.  Falling Down: JM Jarre

18.  The Heart of Noise (The Origin): JM Jarre

Electronica is a two-volume project with 30 collaborators in total.

Electronica 1: The Time Machineis out now.

Listen to and buy the album here:

ELECTRONICA 2: THE HEART OF NOISE is out on May 6, 2016.

U.S. pre-order launches on Friday, February 26.


Website www.jeanmichelJARRE.com

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/jeanmichelJARRE

Twitter https://twitter.com/jmJARRE

Instagram https://instagram.com/jeanmichelJARRE/

Youtube https://www.youtube.com/user/jeanmichelJARRE 

VEVO http://www.vevo.com/artist/JEAN-MICHEL-JARRE

Soundcloud https://www.soundcloud.com/jeanmichelJARRE

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

The Brazen Youth Release “I Don’t Wanna Take Too Much”

The Brazen Youth began with an unlikely union of two eighth graders, Nicholas Lussier and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.