SCI-FI ROMANCE Premieres “Dust Among The Stars”

Premiering on roots music bible  Goldmine Magazine, Los Angeles-based Sci-Fi Romance‘s new album Dust Among The Stars takes the best of alternative rock, Americana, and folk genres and assembles it into what  PopMatters has called “steampunk folk.” The record is Sci-Fi Romance’s third studio effort and was self-released on Broken Image Entertainment.  “On this record, I wanted to try to capture quite a broad range of experiences and feelings,” lead singer-songwriterVance Kotrla explains exclusively to  Goldmine Magazine. “Something that was consistent with what the first two albums had done, but then built on it.”

Check out the album streaming on Goldmine Magazine here:

An album three years in the making, Dust Among The Stars features 10 tracks influenced by Kotrla’s combined love of cinema, literature, and art. “You’ve got love songs and break-up songs, and songs about outer space, and lullabie s all under the one banner,” Kotrla tells Goldmine, “I think it’s an album in the best sense of the word, not just a collection of songs.”

Accomplished cult film critic, author, video producer, and scorer of films, Kotrla is the mastermind behind the all elements of the SFR’s creativity, from writing the music for the album to even creating the music videos for singles “If I Fell” to the upcoming animated video for “Goodbye At The End Of The World.”  Additional tracks on the album are those such as “Pale Blue Dot”, where Kotrla found inspiration in the famous photo of Earth taken by Voyager I before it left the solar system. “It’s the kind of picture that, when you see it, it has the ability to change you.” Kotrla describes. “That’s not such a bad thing to write a song about, if you ask me.” ‘Shakespeare’s Lovers’ features help from the likes of award-winning opera singer, Kristin Vogel. “She’s sung in The Magic Flute, La Boheme, and I Pagliacci and has all these awards… and now she’s on a Sci-Fi Romance record. I’m still kind of amazed,” says Kotrla.

“If a band’s able to make it to a third album, as a fan I want to hear something new, but coming from a place that’s recognizable… from that same place that made me like the band in the first place,” says Kotrla about the new album.  “I definitely had that in mind as we made this record. I kept looking for ways to be really honest to who we are as musicians, but take enough chances to push the sound into corners it had never reached into before.”

Led by singer-songwriter Vance Kotrla, Sci-Fi Romance combines alt-rock and Americana and adds a dark, textured sheen to it, reminiscent of Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, American Records-era Johnny Cash, and contemporary folk-influenced acts like The Decemberists or Iron & Wine. With a lineup of guitar, drums, and cello, the band’s third studio album, Dust Among The Stars, is out now and available at the buy links below:


Track Listing
1. If I Fell
2. Autumn Waltz
3. Temptation Blues
4. Everything Burns
5. Goodbye at the End of the World
6. Pale Blue Dot
7. Shakespeare’s Lovers
8. Fields
9. Let’s Run
10. When You Wake

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

KFamouz Drops Music Video For New Single “No Problem”

KFamouz is an Atlanta musical artist known for his hard hitting bars and catchy melodies. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.