Home / News / Animal Collective Launch iOS App Featuring New Song, Tour On Sale Now, ‘Painting With’ out 2/19 via Domino‏

Animal Collective Launch iOS App Featuring New Song, Tour On Sale Now, ‘Painting With’ out 2/19 via Domino‏

Animal Collective have launched a free iOS app, that allows early access to the song ‘Lying in the Grass’ from their forthcoming studio album, Painting With, out Feb 19th on Domino. Download the app from the iTunes App Store here.

While listening to the song ‘Lying In The Grass’, the ‘Painting With’ app allows for real-time collaborative painting between two users. Fans can record, submit, and share their creations from the app to Twitter and Instagram by using the hashtag #PaintingWith. The submissions are displayed in real-time on the Animal Collective website here. The app also includes a strobe light feature that animates the zoetropic turntable slipmat that is included in the deluxe edition LP. The song will see its official release, via all the usual digital channels, this coming Monday February 1st.

A worldwide 2016 Animal Collective tour is now on sale. All shows are listed below.

Animal Collective Tour Dates
Fri Feb 19 || Philadelphia, PA || Union Transfer || SOLD OUT *
Sat Feb 20 || Portsmouth, NH || 3S Artspace || SOLD OUT *
Mon Feb 22 || Boston, MA || Royale Boston || SOLD OUT *
Tues Feb 23 || New York, NY || Irving Plaza || SOLD OUT *
Wed Feb 24 || New York, NY || Irving Plaza || SOLD OUT *
Fri Feb 26 || Columbus, OH || Newport Music Hall || SOLD OUT *
Sat Feb 27 || Chicago, IL || Concord Music Hall || SOLD OUT *
Sun Feb 28 || Minneapolis, MN || First Avenue ||
TIX *
Tues Mar 1 || Denver, CO || Ogden Theatre ||
TIX *
Wed Mar 2 || Salt Lake City, UT || The Depot ||
TIX *
Fri Mar 4 || Seattle, WA || Neptune || SOLD OUT *
Sat Mar 5 || Portland, OR || Roseland Theater || SOLD OUT *
Mon Mar 7 || Oakland, CA || Fox Theater ||
TIX *
Tues Mar 8 || Los Angeles, CA || The Fonda Theatre || SOLD OUT *
Wed Mar 9 || Los Angeles, CA || The Fonda Theatre || SOLD OUT *
Fri Mar 11-Sun Mar 13 || Phoenix, AZ || McDowell Mountain Music Festival ||
TIX
Fri Apr 1 || Brussels, Belgium || Botanique – Orangerie ||
TIX ^
Sat Apr 2 || The Hague, Holland || Rewire Festival @ Paard van Troje ||
TIX
Mon Apr 4 || Hamburg, Germany || Uebel & Gefahrlich ||
TIX ^
Tues Apr 5 | Berlin, Germany || Postbahnhof ||
TIX ^
Thurs Apr 7 || Milan, Italy || C2C Festival @ Magazzini Generali ||
TIX ^
Fri Apr 8 || Stans, Switzerland || Stanser Musiktage Festival @ Kollegi ||
TIX
Sat Apr 9 || Paris, France || La Cigale ||
TIX ^
Mon Apr 11 || London, UK || 02 Shepherd’s Bush Empire || SOLD OUT ^
Tues Apr 12 || London, UK || 02 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
TIX ^
Wed Apr 13 || Manchester, UK || 02 Ritz ||
TIX ^
Thurs Apr 28 || Fayetteville, AR || George’s Majestic Lounge || SOLD OUT +
Fri Apr 29-Sun May 1 || Austin, TX || Levitation ||
TIX
Sun May 1 || Tulsa, OK || Cains Ballroom ||
TIX +
Tues May 3 || St. Louis, MO || The Pageant ||
TIX +
Wed May 4 || Royal Oak, MI || Royal Oak Music Theatre ||
TIX +
Fri May 6 || Nashville, TN || Marathon Music Works ||
TIX +
Sat May 7 || Atlanta, GA || Buckhead Theatre ||
TIX +
Sun May 8 || Asheville, NC || Orange Peel || SOLD OUT +
Tues May 10 || Washington, DC || 9:30 Club || SOLD OUT +
Wed May 11 || Washington, DC || 9:30 Club || TIX +
Fri May 13 || Wilmington, DE || World Café Live at the Queen || SOLD OUT +
Sat May 14 || Sayreville, NJ || Starland Ballroom ||
TIX +
Jun 1-5 || Barcelona, Spain || Primavera Sound ||
TIX

* with Ratking
^ with GFOTY
+ with Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith

Watch the video for ‘FloriDada’ HERE.

Painting With is available to pre-order in standard CD and LP formats. The album in CD and LP formats will be available in three different covers, featuring each Animal Collective member – Avey Tare, Geologist, and Panda Bear – as painted by Brian DeGraw. All pre-orders come with an instant download of FloriDada.

Pre-order Painting With:

Animal Collective Store / Dom Mart / iTunes

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

COLD WAR KIDS RETURN WITH TWO NEW SONGS

Cold War Kids have released two new songs — “Complainer” and “4th of July” — the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.