The Coral

UK’s The Coral Announce New Album Titled “Distance Inbetween,” Share New Single, “Miss Fortune”‏

Influential Hoylake, UK five-piece The Coral are pleased to announce the Friday, March 4 release of their forthcoming album titled Distance Inbetween on Ignition Records (pre-order via iTunes). Distance Inbetween is The Coral’s first album of original material since 2010’s Butterfly House, a gap punctuated by last year’s surprise release of their lost album, The Curse of Love. Since their debut EP release in 2001 the band have sold over a million UK albums, with five reaching the Top 10 including 2003’s chart-topping Magic and Medicine


Recorded at Liverpool’s Parr Street Studio with co-producer Richard Turvey, Distance Inbetween is the band’s seventh album and was recorded live and mostly in just one take. The seams of each of the album’s 12-tracks are purposely rough-hewn and pave the way for a new visceral sound from a totally reenergized band. On the recording, James Skelly (vocals, guitars), Ian Skelly (drums/percussion/vocals), Nick Power (keyboard/vocals), and Paul Duffy (bass/keyboards/vocals) are joined by Coral newbie, guitarist Paul Molloy, formerly of The Zutons

“Before we started making the album we had discussed that we wanted it to be more minimal and rhythmical,” explains Skelly. “We thought ‘if you’ve got a rhythm section that’s been playing together for almost twenty years, why not make that the centre of the songs?’”

Miss Fortune is the first single to be taken from the album and is a tune that is able to stand up against all of The Coral’s eight Top 40 singles, which include the alternative classics “Dreaming Of You,” “In The Morning,” “Pass It On,” and “Don’t Think You’re The First.” On Boxing Day, The Coral released to fans a free MP3 and video of album track “Chasing The Tail Of A Dream” with a limited edition, signed 7” version made exclusively available via the band’s online store. Despite not being a “single,” “Chasing The Tail Of A Dream” has been added to the playlists at BBC 6Music and Radio X and featured as a Track Of The Week on Absolute Radio.

On Distance Inbetween listeners are invited into The Coral’s world of Richard Yates’ books, Alan Moore comics, 1980’s toys, the sound of krautrock compilations and Muddy Waters’ Electric Mud, and Gregory Crewdson’s darkly beautiful photography. The album is dedicated to Alan Wills, The Coral’s early mentor and Deltasonic label boss who tragically lost his life in 2014.

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

Lucky Harmon Releases New Music Video For “Party Life”

Chances are, you’ve seen Lucky Harmon around somewhere. Perhaps you recognize him from the movies …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.