Atlantic Records and WBR have unveiled details of a groundbreaking musical experience tied to VINYL, the highly anticipated new HBO drama series from Executive Producers Martin Scorsese, Mick Jagger, and Terence Winter.  “VINYL: MUSIC FROM THE HBO® ORIGINAL SERIES – VOLUME 1,” a full length musical companion to the series’ premiere episode, is set to arrive in stores and at all digital retailers and streaming services on Friday, February 12th ahead of the series premiere, Sunday, February 14th exclusively on HBO.  A new digital EP will then be released every subsequent Friday with music featured in that week’s upcoming episode.  This first-of-its-kind slate of musical offerings will culminate with a second full-length soundtrack, “VINYL: MUSIC FROM THE HBO® ORIGINAL SERIES – VOLUME 1: FINALE,” to be released both physically and digitally and on all streaming services on Friday, April 15th coinciding with the season finale, airing Sunday, April 17th.

Informed by Scorsese’s renowned innovative use of music in film and Jagger’s intimate insight on the era, “VINYL: MUSIC FROM THE HBO® ORIGINAL SERIES – VOLUME 1” takes the listener on a musical journey with new and previously released material – all featured in the season premiere – from an array of rising stars and legendary artists, including the one and only David Johansen, who revitalizes a pair of classics by his seminal group the New York Dolls with re-recordings exclusively for the series. Original highlights include “No Good,” the breakout rock single from Elektra/Atlantic recording artist Kaleo that was featured in the latest VINYL trailer, and “Sugar Daddy (Theme From Vinyl),” the series’ main title and first new music from GRAMMY® Award-nominated, Atlantic recording artist Sturgill Simpson (see attached tracklisting).

VINYL: MUSIC FROM THE HBO® ORIGINAL SERIES – VOLUME 1” further showcases material featured in the series premiere, including the original song “Rotten Apple,” co-written by VINYL co-star James Jagger along with Mick Jagger, Luis Felber and James Dunson, and performed by Nasty Bits, a band featured in the show that is fronted by James Jagger. Additional highlights include tracks from Soda Machine and Vintage Trouble’s Ty Taylor – who has also been cast as the singing voice of the series’ character Lester Grimes. The soundtrack also captures the electric energy of New York City in the 1970s via a bounty of indelible pop, rock, disco, and soul favorites from such iconic stars as Otis Redding, Foghat, Jimmy Castor Bunch, Dee Dee Warwick, Edgar Winter, The Meters, and much more.

Likewise, each week will bring a robust slate of new content in the form of musical offerings tied to every episode throughout the season.  The aforementioned series of eight EPs will each feature an exciting combination of original tracks written and produced exclusively for the series, vintage songs from the period re-recorded by contemporary artists, and a wealth of catalog favorites, all either appearing in or inspired by music in that week’s episode.   Some of the artists contributing recordings include Charlie Wilson, Iggy Pop, Chris Cornell, Julian Casablancas, Charli XCX, Jesse J, Nate Ruess, Royal Blood, Jess Glynne, Trey Songz, The Arcs, DJ Cassidy, Alex Newell, and many more.  Additionally, multiple promotional music videos tied to tracks found on the soundtracks and featured in the show will be unveiled throughout the season.

The entire “VINYL: MUSIC FROM THE HBO® ORIGINAL SERIES” catalog was produced by the GRAMMY winning trio behind “BOARDWALK EMPIRE VOLUME 1:  MUSIC FROM THE HBO ORIGINAL SERIES” comprised of VINYL music supervisor Randall Poster (“THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL:  ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK,” “THE WOLF OF WALL STREET: MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE”), Atlantic Records Group President of Film & Television/Atlantic Records Executive Vice President Kevin Weaver (“FURIOUS 7: ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK,” “THE FAULT IN OUR STARS: MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE”), and VINYL music producer Stewart Lerman.  Meghan Currier, who supervises the music in the series with Poster, co-produced.  Executive producers are Martin Scorsese, Mick Jagger, Terence Winter, and Atlantic Records Chairman/CEO Craig Kallman.

VINYL:  From Executive Producers Martin Scorsese, Mick Jagger and Terence Winter, this new drama series is set in 1970s New York. A ride through the sex- and drug-addled music business at the dawn of punk, disco, and hip-hop, the show is seen through the eyes of a record label president, Richie Finestra, played by Bobby Cannavale, who is trying to save his company and his soul without destroying everyone in his path. Additional series regulars include Olivia Wilde (Devon Finestra), Ray Romano (Zak Yankovich), Ato Essandoh (Lester Grimes), Max Casella (Julius “Julie” Silver), P.J. Byrne (Scott Levitt), J.C. MacKenzie (Skip Fontaine), Birgitte Hjort Sørensen (Ingrid), Juno Temple (Jamie Vine), Jack Quaid (Clark Morelle), James Jagger (Kip Stevens) and Paul Ben-Victor (Maury Gold).  Scorsese, Jagger and Winter executive produce along with Victoria Pearman, Rick Yorn, Emma Tillinger Koskoff, John Melfi, Allen Coulter and George Mastras.  Winter serves as showrunner. The 10-episode first season debuts February 14th.

For additional news and information, please see


(Atlantic Records/Warner Bros. Records)

RELEASE DATE: February 12th, 2016 


1. Ty Taylor – The World Is Yours

2. David Johansen – Personality Crisis

3. Kaleo – No Good

4. Sturgill Simpson – Sugar Daddy (Theme from Vinyl)

5. Ruth Brown – Mama He Treats Your Daughter Mean

6. Otis Redding – Mr. Pitiful

7. Dee Dee Warwick – Suspicious Minds

8. Mott the Hoople – All The Way From Memphis

9. David Johansen – Stranded In The Jungle

10. Chris Kenner – I Like It Like That

11. Ty Taylor – Cha Cha Twist

12. The Jimmy Castor Bunch – It’s Just Begun

13. Soda Machine – Want Ads

14. The Meters – Hand Clapping Song

15. Soda Machine – Slippin’ Into Darkness

16. Edgar Winter – Frankenstein

17. Nasty Bits – Rotten Apple

18. Foghat – I Just Want To Make Love To You

About RJ Frometa

Head Honcho, Editor in Chief and writer here on VENTS. I don't like walking on the beach, but I love playing the guitar and geeking out about music. I am also a movie maniac and 6 hours sleeper.

Check Also

“Red Sonja” Heads Back to the Silver Screen with Actor Hannah John-Kamen in the Lead

It feels like only yesterday that Brigitte Nielsen – one-time wife of Sly Stallone and …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.